Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7
Imhiriel's Drabbles
by:Imhiriel
 [31] Reviewer:Aislynn Crowdaughter Date:June 17, 2007 12:02 PM
Hi! This is a deep and very interesting view at Finrod. Thank you for writing this!

Report this review, #3703, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [32] Reviewer:Aislynn Crowdaughter Date:June 17, 2007 12:13 PM
Okay, let's try this again, since my former reviews were posted in no relation to tghe drabbles I made them to:

To 29, Fit for a King: What a perfect drabble, and a wonderful conclusion! I like it a lot!

To 45, Forsaken: This is a deep and very interesting view at Finrod. Thank you for writing this!

To 8, Golden, Golden Rauros Falls: Very black humor! But I doubt that Aragorn, of all people, would make such a critical mistake.

And finally, to No. 46 the mention about the nickname. Sorry for not getting earlier that the reviews are not displayed together with the chapters they belonged to! -- Aislynn

Report this review, #3704, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [33] Reviewer:Denise Date:July 3, 2007 4:43 PM
At last! A moment to reread and savor your latest...

The Dryad (44): This is just magnificent! I love the idea of the dryad, and I'm not so sure it is necessarily AU, given Tolkien's introduction of spirits as ambiguous as Bombadil and Goldberry, and creatures like the Ents, taking care of partially sentient trees... I loved how you wove in a reason for the resolute loveliness of Ithilien; by all rights it should have been completely despoiled by centuries of being hard against Mordor. The guardian guarding the Guardians was a wonderful touch. And I also loved how you echoed Tolkien's own words about Faramir through the dryad - perfectly capturing F's character, and stirring a powerfully resonating response in me. I'm SO glad this is in the MEFAs!

Forsaken (45): Excellent job of capturing Finrod's pain - as you know, one of my favorite Elves. Friend of Men, he did so much for both peoples, and seems to have been one of the most selfless and generous of all. Your list of wounds was horribly perfect, if that makes sense, and caught his feelings so well in just handfuls of words; and the final line: devastating.

Mirth (46): And then this very funny, very wonderful look at Aragorn from an outsider's eyes. I loved the interaction between the two women, and both reactions to Aragorn (which I could certainly equally see; but "lean, dark, tall" - mmmmmm... that would have been MY reaction. *g*) And Aragorn's mirth at the "stormcrow" comment was so perfectly in character - it made me think of Dwim's own drabble Wizardry, which was a wonderful connection given the context.

Bibliophile (47): Snort! That was a very, very clever connection between Faramir and Finduilas I. I loved the repetition of the book dropping; the interplay between Eowyn and Faramir; Faramir's reference to his memories of his mother (and he wouldn't have many) - this is an excellent example of an all-around well done drabble, with a lovely ending. Bibliophile indeed! I wonder what you'd call the lover of a lover of books...

Report this review, #3727, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [34] Reviewer:Denise Date:July 19, 2007 10:04 PM
#48: Oh, nice interlude with these two. I like Legolas' concern and respect for Glorfindel, and G's deft handling and reassurance.

#49: I enjoyed the image of Eldacar as a reluctant King; it heightens my respect for his decision to return. Not for riches or power, but the support of his people against a violent and ugly usurper. I really liked the way you developed this through the conversation with his "lesser" kin, who saw the right way when many of their "higher" cousins did not.

Report this review, #3744, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [35] Reviewer:Marta Date:July 29, 2007 2:26 PM
Hi Imhiriel,

I finally got around to reading this drabble. It's really well done, and a look at the kinstrife that I hadn't seen done before. Thanks!

Report this review, #3747, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [36] Reviewer:Denise Date:September 10, 2007 5:40 PM
#50: Woohoo!!!

What a treat: I pop on to TFF and there, quietly shining, is a beautiful new drabble from you! Wonderful and ambitious subject choice for your 50th. You've infused it with hope, and wonder, and also the terrible fate of choice - we can use our inspiration for good or ill.

Tolkien, no doubt, saw no contradiction in having the Flame in disparate places, given the Catholic Triune God. I thought you handled it very well in the drabble.

Report this review, #3766, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [37] Reviewer:Altariel Date:September 10, 2007 9:14 PM
Congratulations on your golden drabble, Imhiriel, and it's a beauty.

"Whosoever is touched by my fire will burn with passion to bring into being the designs of their heart and mind."

I love this insight about creativity, such an important theme in Tolkien.

Report this review, #3767, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [38] Reviewer:Linda Hoyland Date:September 11, 2007 6:06 AM
Beautiful and thought provoking! Congratulations on 50 drabbles! They are addictive,aren't they?

Report this review, #3769, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [39] Reviewer:Raksha06 Date:September 15, 2007 4:57 AM
Fascinating and original piece - I really like the way you've incarnated the Sacred Fire as myth, idea and creative force.

Report this review, #3772, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [40] Reviewer:Larner Date:September 20, 2007 1:39 AM
It's wonderful to read these. Some, of course, I've read before; others I've read for the first time. Have read 15 of them and have another 35 to read. Each is a jewel in its own right, and I wish it were easier here to review chapter by chapter.

Ah, well, I'm enjoying them indeed.

Report this review, #3778, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz