Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7
Imhiriel's Drabbles
by:Imhiriel
 [11] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:June 6, 2006 2:43 PM
I like the new drabbles, especially "the Scent Lingers." Had to think for a bit before I could figure out who the actors were. Ioreth and Aragorn?

Report this review, #3287, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [12] Reviewer:Linda Hoyland Date:July 23, 2006 2:40 AM
This is just beautiful.I love the story of the white tree and have written my own version of Aragorn finding it, but I love your idea of the tree being sentinent,something I hadn't thought of.

Report this review, #3314, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [13] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:August 5, 2006 2:10 PM
Hee hee -- love the Queen Among Farmers' Wives!

Report this review, #3329, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [14] Reviewer:RAKSHA06 Date:August 7, 2006 11:20 AM
Loved the "Blessed" drabble with Arwen and Aragorn. I've often thought that their wedding night might have been a bit tense and awkward, what with Aragorn having 70 years of pent-up longing behind it, and Arwen newly come into mortality.

Report this review, #3331, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [15] Reviewer:Linda Date:October 1, 2006 11:21 PM
Just wanted to say thank you again for this lovely drabble. I can can just imagine the scene you paint so vividly

Report this review, #3383, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [16] Reviewer:Denise Date:October 23, 2006 2:57 AM
Imhiriel, I remain simply in awe of your drabbling abilities. They are immensely varied and yet all very well composed. Every word and phrase is perfectly chosen to clearly get your image across. I know I've commented to you on "The Errand Rider", so on from there...

I love your Finarfin: noble, courageous, loving. I hope we get to see more him in the future. "Saying Farewell" and “Father and Daughter” are so sad and poignant that I want more of the happy Earwin/Finarfin that we glimpse in “Crossing Toward Sunrise”!

Beautiful, reflective look at Idril and Tuor’s love. I thought the numerical progression was well done, and loved this phrase: “two graceful hands weaving music into motion” – it painted an extremely clear picture in my mind.

All of these latest Aragorn drabbles are amazing. They are extremely intense, but I go through the wringer with him without feeling “too much!” at the end. That experience is so hard to capture, but you managed it very well.

I really enjoyed his scene with Eomer and Faramir, too, especially Eomer’s smirking! You showed a wonderfully easy and relaxed relationship between the three.

I like how you turned a tense first meeting of the returned Numenoreans and people of M-e into an evening of shared laughter – part of our universal human language. :)

I loved the interaction between Mandos and Vaire, and the comfort and (hopefully) peace that she gave him with the reminder of Eru’s plan.

OK, I think “A Queen Among Farmers’ Wives” is my favorite of this latest bunch. You portray such a lovely, loving and playful relationship between these two. I’m always going to picture this scene when I read FotR. And I had completely forgotten that Bombadil and Farmer Maggot were linked…

Now I’m going to cheat a bit and compliment you on a couple that haven’t been added (yet) – since who knows when I’ll get my act together again… “Friend of Birds” was charming and inventive, and I really, really liked your portrayal of Radagast as a “lord of dignity and power.” Sometimes I think he doesn't get enough respect even though he was a Maia, one of the Istari. And “Pirates Ye Be Warned” was just simply great. I loved the parallel you drew with PotC, loved the interaction between “Jack” and the Prince, and – as I’m sure you would guess - loved Imrahil. *happy sigh*

Report this review, #3409, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [17] Reviewer:Raksha06 Date:November 6, 2006 11:14 AM
Squee - I love "Tying Notes"! The image of Faramir grooving to Haradric music and then knowledgeably speaking with the musicians - ah; you've gladdened my Faramirist heart. Thanx for this lovely birthday prezzie!

Report this review, #3420, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [18] Reviewer:Dawn Felagund Date:November 10, 2006 6:28 PM
Hi, Imhiriel,
Thanks for pointing me towards this! I love it, how you bring such tiny canon details (the black and red books) into a story with powerful implications. I adore Second Age stuff, though I lack the canon know-how to dare attempt it myself. This connection between the follies of the First Age and the Second is magnificent.
Best regards,
Dawn

Report this review, #3434, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [19] Reviewer:Radbooks Date:December 1, 2006 5:08 AM
Well, that most certainly was an... inspiring... double drabble. :) You write such wonderful and vivid descriptions here that I know I can picture the scene in my mind. *grin* It truly is well written and most enjoyable as are the other two that are new this time.

Report this review, #3469, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [20] Reviewer:Denise Date:December 14, 2006 8:30 PM
What a treat, to be doing a quick check-in to the site to look up a reference - and find you'd updated with new drabbles!

I thought you did an excellent job of capturing Thorin's perspective in "A Cold Farewell," and really liked how you reversed the chapter meaning from the Hobbit.

"Mournful Fords" is striking and heart-rending. I love that you picked out what must have been a horrible moment for Théoden, and didn't shy away from the dark thoughts he would have carried.

Till Éomer comes... Not his father.

Ouch. Poor Théoden; no parent should ever have to outlive their child, much less be subject to thinking of how they had failed that child. Thanks for looking unflinchingly at this missing moment.

Report this review, #3512, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz