Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
[1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Passages
by:Isabeau
 [1] Reviewer:Raksha06 Date:November 6, 2006 3:56 AM
Wonderful story percolating here.

Brand's growing up, which is part of the problem; he's a teenager, becoming a young man and coping with more than most kids his age, even in Fourth Age Gondor.

I hope he'll eventually truly realize how much Faramir cares about him, and that he's not merely being bought off with property.

Please finish the story! Brand needs to work through his concerns about Andrahar; they need each other.

Report this review, #3419, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [2] Reviewer:Nargil Date:November 6, 2006 4:54 PM
I'm so happy you decided to post at least some of this Isabeau and what a great start to the story.

Lord Brandmir indeed, I loved this little prologe Imrahil's papers blowing everywhere and Brand well deserved the land although the hint of him not getting presents just shows how life has changed for him. When I first read the last part of the chapter I thought he was learning sums in Haradric!

I love the little seen with Hethlin at the start of the first chapter as well, Brand learning archery, nice to see he's not just going to be a clone of his Father although he is a lot like him he's verymuch his own man as well.

So Brand finally got his dagger, and a whole load of other presents as well, nice to see Erchirion seems to have come to his senses and is back home with his Family.

The little scene with the key was a wonderful addition, shows how much Imri cares about people with what he said about if any of the Ladies had children, I also like Brand's reticence about such things, it fits well with his background.

Poor Andra, that was somthing of an inevitable disscusion, I wonder how long it will take Brand to figure out the rest, more hindsight coming into play. He must be almost as tall as Andra if he's nearly as tall as Heth. The very idea of Andra sitting serenly on the bank of a river with a fishing rod seems wrong, in fact the idea of Andra doing anythig serenly is almost a contradiction in terms.

Loved his thought at the end of this, it will be great to see what happens next.

Best of luck with the NaNoWriMo

Nargil

Report this review, #3421, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [3] Reviewer:Denise Date:November 6, 2006 11:56 PM
Hooray! Imrahil, Andrahar, Brand and Hethlin - most of my favorites in the first chapter alone, and every one of them marvelously portrayed, as always.

One the things that I really appreciate about your writing is that the characters grow and change *between* the stories, not just within them. For example, Brand from Noble Jewel/Reparation and Imrahil from Silver Swan have both adjusted during the intervening time. You very clearly have their character trajectories mapped out in your head, and always translate that into your writing even when your stories might skip years of their development.

I completely agree with the very comprehensive reviews above; they already covered many of the things that struck me, and some I hadn't considered.

I still love the little touches that you manage to bestow on characters that make even the briefest of appearances: pregnant Mariel, Tirathiel's birthday gift, Erchirion's youthful bragging, etc.

The "sex talk" that Imrahil and Brand had was very adroitly and sensitively handled, given Brand's unique take on the subject. You covered a lot of territory that I had wondered about or that had brief mentions in past stories. It made a good lead-in to the disclosure talk between Brand and Andra on the beach. Brand's reaction was believable and expected, although I did grieve for Andrahar.

In short, excellent stage-setting!

Report this review, #3422, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [4] Reviewer:Rochnariel Date:November 7, 2006 1:04 AM
Yay an update *Does Happy Dance*

When I got to the part about Imrahil giving his children the keys I was struck by a vision of Amrothos examining every lock in Dol-Amroth trying to find the one it opens, complete with Sherlock Holmes hat and detailed notes upon methods used and results tables, weeks of him turning up at the dinner table with random chests to examin whilst he eats, and Imrahil leaving notes with hints stuck under his door before finally telling him what the key is for in utter exasperation!

I'll write you a better review when it's not 1 in the morning.

Rochnariel

Report this review, #3423, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [5] Reviewer:obsidianj Date:November 7, 2006 1:41 AM
These are quite some revelations. Poor Brand, first the key and then Andrahar's revelation. I think it will take some time for him to digest all this new information. How long until he figures out the connection between Andrahar and his father?

I loved Lady Tirathiel's present, very fitting with what I remember from her in CMC.

Report this review, #3425, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [6] Reviewer:*Star* Date:November 7, 2006 5:42 PM
He He He, I love the little war of the Crushes between Brand and Imrahil, they're both still quite Heth struck.

Nice to see Andra giving Heth some credit where it's due and letting her teach Brand Archery, and his scowl at the naughty arrow. It makes me sad to realise how little there is of Boromir now, Brand's amazement at actually having somthing of his fathers is so sad in that way.

I amazed at Andrahar actully sending Brand to explore the garden of love, it always seemed like a book that would make more questions than answers to me. Brand finds out a bit more about his gaurdian as well, I wonder if he'll manage to figure out about Andra and Boromir, and how he'll ask if he does, I can just see him turning scarlett right now.

I see you've almost perfected the art of leaving a chapter on a cliff hanger, I wanna know what happens next!

*Star* (who still has no patience)

Report this review, #3429, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [7] Reviewer:Hannah Date:November 9, 2006 12:17 AM
"Have I lost you then lad?"

What a way to end Isabeau, I can't wait for the next chapter, I loved both of these, Particularly Brand's almost foot in mouth honesty, the way he say's what he's thinking, and that wonderful line when he's talking to Andra "No well yes a bit" I think he has a bit of thinking to do.

Hannah

Report this review, #3432, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [8] Reviewer:*Star* Date:November 13, 2006 11:48 PM
I said in my review of the first part of this that you had almost perfected the art of the clif hanger. I was wrong, you've got it perfect, including the art of the evil cliff hanger. I can't wait for next week.

Poor Brand, life has once again knocked him for six, poor Andra as well, when he worried he had lost Brand I bet he never imagined it like this. I hope he doesn't think he's run away. It doesn't look good for him, a good looking boy amongst the Haradrim, bad combination.

Wondefull chapter, fantastically written as always, I see why you wanted to post it all at once.

Report this review, #3437, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [9] Reviewer:obsidianj Date:November 14, 2006 1:59 AM
I shouldn't have read this. Now I have to wait until Sunday for the next part.

That is quite a birthday Brand has. First some more (nasty) revelations and then getting kidnapped. I hope he will be missed soon.

He shouldn't have read the letter, but I can understand his curiosity. That was rather more than he wanted to know about his father. Or, it was rather the wrong thing he got to know. He suddenly finds out the flaws of the great hero his father was supposed to be. That is hard to swallow.

Now I really want to know how this gets all disentangled.

Report this review, #3438, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [10] Reviewer:peregrine Date:November 14, 2006 3:25 AM
Evil, evil Isabeau. How can you leave us like that?
Though I have never posted a review, I have been following your stories since you started with CMC, and the only thing I can comment is that they are getting better and better. Thank you for gifting the world with such a plethora of well developed and charming characters, and have pity on us and update soon. Pleeeease!

Peregrine

Report this review, #3439, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
[1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz