Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Passages
by:Isabeau
 [11] Reviewer:Nargil Date:November 14, 2006 4:42 PM
How can you leave us hanging like that!

Poor Brand, no body will know where he's gone. And with all he has on his mind as well. I'm so glad we got to see Boromir's letter, I've wondered what was in it. Naughty Brand for sticking his nose in other peoples buisness, I hope he doesn't suffer any ill effects from the tranquiliser, Haradrim drugs are not good for dreamers.

I hope he escapes the Haradrim and gets his dagger back before anything nasty happens. I hope Andra finds him and sets the world to rights.

I love all the litle details in this, the tigers on Andra's armour and the little horses on Pelorens. Andra's front room in a state and his litle pile of mending waiting for him to come back to it.

Must you wait till next week to post the next chapter, can't you post it now.

Hope all your writing is going well,

Nargil

Report this review, #3440, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [12] Reviewer:Nargil Date:November 20, 2006 1:00 AM
Aww, poor Brand, Andra really needs to rescue him before the Haradrim can ennact their evil plan.

I loved that little bit where Brand thinks how Andra would destroy umbar looking for him, it's good he see's how much he is loved.

I hope he is found soon so he can make up with Andra, and come to terms with all this, he missed his birthday tea

Report this review, #3449, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [13] Reviewer:*Star* Date:November 20, 2006 11:56 AM
Yikes, hopefuly Elphir's spies will find out where Brand is so he can be rescued. Andra must be tearing himself to bit over this, still he's nearly packed for his epic Brand hunt, they have to find him before somebody has thier way with Brand. All the other little children need rescuing as well.

It did amuse me in the last chapter that they thought a fisher's lad would drown, but it's not the monkey's fault. I blame the pirates. That bit about the dread pirate Erchirion tales, I love Imri's bedtime stories, Brand's are pretty good as well, I like his version of Jack and the beanstork.

I cant wait till next week, I hope your muse co-operates and lets you finnish this for christmas.

*Star*

Report this review, #3450, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [14] Reviewer:Rochnariel Date:November 20, 2006 3:13 PM
Yikes, I go away for a week and Brand goes from having a ride on his new horse to a Haradrim captive en-route to umbar, I didn't see that one coming.

Brand is right in that his story and Andra's are similar, they where both born low then well looked after for a while, I hope Brand can get home before he has to spend time as a slave and street rat though and that we get to see his story end with a career in the Swan knights, well he does but I'd like to fill in the blanks.

Rochnariel

Report this review, #3451, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [15] Reviewer:raksha06 Date:November 20, 2006 6:52 PM
"My father was NOT the Captain’s “dearest friend” at all! He was his LOVER!"

Ack! Poor little Brand - that's quite a bombshell. At least he seems to be taking it well, understanding that there was real love between Andra and Boromir, and that Andrahar truly cares for him as the son he can't have.

Cliffhanger ending! And a nice usage of the dream of the wave.

Report this review, #3452, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [16] Reviewer:Raksha06 Date:November 20, 2006 6:59 PM
What's even worse for a boy than being captured by Umbari slavers? Being captured by pedophile Umbari slavers, one of whom wants to sample the 'goods'. Ew. Something tells me that Brand might make his first kill before this story's done, possibly with his birthday prezzie.

Please, bring Andrahar to the rescue ASAP!

Report this review, #3453, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [17] Reviewer:Rugi Date:November 20, 2006 7:34 PM
Oh dear. I think poor Brand's big day has a chance at winning the worst-birthday-ever contest (it could at least get an honorable mention).

Slavers who are fond of young boys? Absolutely horrible - and you show it vividly without resorting to melodrama. Great job as well showing Brand as an adolescent - he's smart and really rising to the occasion but he's also in a VERY dangerous situation and knows it.

I also really like how secure Brand is in the love of his foster-father. I hope Andrahar realizes Brand is missing soon and doesn't think its because of the earlier revelations.

Report this review, #3454, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [18] Reviewer:Nargil Date:November 26, 2006 9:58 PM
*Slaps Boromir in face* How can he be so mean to poor Brand, telling him o deal with it, cant he see the kids having a hard time right now? still he tries to make it up at the end, although the way he say's "you have my blessing" of course it means somthing to Brand,I must onfess I don't like him much here, although the bit about Boromir being used to make things happen was interesting.

I like Brand kicking butt with the Haradrim though, and he has his knife back, which is good. Hopefully they will all be rescued soon. His manner of negotiation seems like an interesting cross between prince Imri and Pirate Imri.

I thought overall it fit well in a wierd way, even the Boromir bit, if it was too perfect Brand may have thought it all a dream.

Oh well I'm off to see if I can figure out what Glorfindle said.

Nargil

Report this review, #3460, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [19] Reviewer:RAKSHA06 Date:November 27, 2006 7:59 AM
"Some people used me pretty badly to get something done that needed to happen, and I have a sort of dispensation as a result." - I find this a bit hard to believe, despite its providing something of a rationale for Boromir's ghostly visitations to various characters in this and other stories. I can't believe that the Valar deliberately forced Boromir to fall prey to the Ring in order to motivate Frodo's decision. I think Boromir fell to the Ring's lure because of his own arrogance and perhaps Denethor's influence, and then, being the good man he was at heart, won back his own soul through his heroism.

That aside, this is a good and suspenseful chapter. Brand's telling the other kids about his visit to Minas Tirith, and meeting the King, was excellent; and the confrontation with Nezram the best scene of all.

Can't wait for the next chapter - I want to see the kids rescued, and Brand's reunion with his family.

Report this review, #3461, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [20] Reviewer:*Star* Date:November 27, 2006 11:34 PM
Ouch Nargil, be nice.

I liked it, Boromir gave Brand more to think about, he want's him to stay with Andra very badly, I loved the old gray and Cantankourous line some folks would argue he is already all of the above. It seems sad in a way that the depth of thier love has only become clear affter the fact.

Brand really needs to get his head around this I think that's what Boromir wanted.

Thanks for posting this so early as well, I read it about 5mins after you posted but I couldn't make the web work after that, still on another PC now so you get the review.

I love the line about dresses as well, typical lad, you write a wonderfully convincing 14 year old. I loved his reaction to killing as well, he should have a good career as a warrior if Erchirion (providing it is Chirion) gets him off the ship on time, I hope there's no girls on board, :P Can't wait for Sunday,

*Star*

Report this review, #3462, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz