Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10
Passages
by:Isabeau
 [71] Reviewer:Drenagon Date:September 16, 2008 11:26 PM
It was so good to see another chapter of this story so soon after the last one. Aragorn would be the kind to hijack a chapter, wouldn't he? Rangers are, after all, very good at kidnapping of all sorts. Brand's honour price was a very nice touch, especially as a reminder that Brand of Pelargir doesn't seem so far away to him, and it was interesting to see that book playing a part in Gondorian politics once again. I only read Ultimatums the other day, and so its significance finally clicked. The reappearance of the Red Dog and the meat pie conversation was fun as well. I hope Andrahar and Brand manage to come to an understanding soon, watching (or rather, reading about) Andra trying to put distance between them makes my heart ache. I look forward to the next chapter, hopefully with the tournament in as long as the characters behave!

Report this review, #4000, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [72] Reviewer:Raksha06 Date:September 17, 2008 2:07 AM
May I say OOOOOHHHH, and SQUEEEEEEEE, about the delightful interaction between Brand and the puppies and lovable Luin?

You're right, there are not enough dogs in Tolkien's books.

The rest of chapter 13 was fine too!

Report this review, #4001, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [73] Reviewer:RAKSHA06 Date:September 17, 2008 2:11 AM
Poor Andra, not only desperate with worry about his missing foster-son, but then he has to cope with a big ol' grinning dog. And a wonderful entrance by Aragorn, too.

Good chapter; can't wait for more!

Report this review, #4002, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [74] Reviewer:illereyn Date:September 17, 2008 10:16 AM
Squee!

Two chapters coming so soon together! thank you for making my week. I was looking forward to the tournament, but this is just as good. I thought it might be Faramir or Aragorn when the archer was mentioned, and what a way to introduce a meeting between Aragorn and Brand! Loved the conversation between Aragorn and Brand - he's growing into his lordship, isn't he?

Thank you for the wonderful chapters

Report this review, #4003, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [75] Reviewer:Denise Date:September 17, 2008 5:57 PM
Reread the ending of Ch. 14 again, and found myself thinking more about Andrahar's reaction to Luin. Andrahar's been distancing himself from Brand - ostensibly for Brand's sake, but no doubt also from his own hurt - and I wonder if Luin was an unwelcome sign of just how successfully Andra has accomplished this. ("How could I not know about such a big dog??") 'Twas a time when Andra would have been the first to be told...

Report this review, #4004, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [76] Reviewer:Radbooks Date:September 18, 2008 5:10 AM
Wow, two chapters in a week! What a treat, especially for an Aragorn fan. :) I've told you before - a long time ago - how well you write him and this was a nice conversation between Aragorn and Brandmir. A good glimpse of the relationship the two of them will have as Brand grows and that we get a glimpse of in The Recall.

You can really see Brand starting to come into his own now. The time on the ship, as horrible as it was, also gave him a new sense of himself... an ability to stand up to people and to express himself, except of course with the person it matters the most - his foster-father. But, I have no doubt that that will come!

Thanks again!

Report this review, #4005, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [77] Reviewer:Dwim Date:September 20, 2008 2:00 PM
Yes! Aragorn ahoy!

Ahem...

A very enjoyable pair of chapters - I'm really not a dog person, so the idea of all these enormous, licky dogs hanging about would be enough to make me very very anxious and leery. Fortunately, Brand seems to handle them better, and in the love-me, love-my-dogs fashion, it makes exactly the right impression on Tathar's family. They all seem delightfully down to earth in ways that even Imrahil is not (okay, who are we kidding, he's never down to earth!). They may be just the sort of friends Brand needs - nobility, and so able to explain the ins and outs, but unself-conscious and uninterested in playing 'the game', and so closer to Brand's level of experience and comfort.

Luin is, despite my reservations about dogs, a terrific character and foil for Brand, though I have to say, I'm just waiting to see how Luin and Andra get on. The day Luin flops on Andrahar's lap unexpectedly is going to be an interesting day.

I was so glad to see Aragorn playing truant, and using it to good cause - that's our Strider, he multi-tasks! Also another good one for Brand to know in terms of people who can match his level of experience, despite their rank - I know you love Strider best of Aragorn's incarnations, and I'm not one to argue with you, there. Great portrayal, great way of moving the story's plot along.

And speaking of that, it was good to see the initial trauma/drama of the story, the kidnapping, return to play a role. Brand's sense of what is owed is perfect, and I can imagine that when Andrahar hears about it, it'll hit home in ways Brand didn't intend. After all, if anyone knows about what it's like to be thrown to the wolves and have *nobody* care if you lived or died, it would be Andra: in a way, Brand's insistence on Harad's discovering the fate of the kidnapped children and returning them alive if possible would be a kind of indirect justice and recompense to the boy Andrahar was once - a kind of quiet 'reward' for his intervention on Brand's behalf. What Andrahar couldn't do for himself, the boy he took in and raised like a son can do for others trapped in that same situation.

Of course in the mean time, Andra will be hell to live with this morning for all the poor, hung-over esquires and newly-minted Swan Knights. Between worry, potential hangover, fright of the morning, and memory, and the exacerbating influence of having the King come to the rescue, there will undoubtedly be a lot of very sore men and one woman wandering about the townhouse.

Report this review, #4006, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [78] Reviewer:Nargil Date:September 24, 2008 9:20 PM
" there will undoubtedly be a lot of very sore men and one woman wandering about the townhouse."

I'm sure you don't mean that the way I just read it Dwim!

Two new chapters yay, I want a Luin, he sounds so sweet, and go Brand, you tell the king, they where both so perfectly written in this. I like Brand's solution, what a wonderful suprise for the familys if they get thier kids back.

How long untill someone whacks Brand and Andra's heads together, at this rate there will be a line if people waiting for the chance.

Nargil

Report this review, #4013, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [79] Reviewer:Drenagon Date:October 2, 2010 9:55 PM
I think I reached a pitch only Luin would have heard when I saw that this had been updated. Such a good weekend treat! I liked Brand's interaction with Eowyn, and his growing suspicion that something is going on in his Uncle's household. Faramir's uneasy reaction to the discussion about Heth and Imrahil made me wonder if that is ever a source of discord between Faramir and Eowyn. Although I feel extremely sorry for Hethlin now - I'm not sure how well certain people at that table are going to manage when it comes to not pressuring her! Ooh, just remembered, I also like Imrahil and Arwen quietly plotting about Tathar in the background. Brand is certainly an observant boy, which makes seeing the world through his eyes very intriguing (and is very handy if you're his baby cousin). Although I'm not sure who was actually the youngest in this chapter - Elboron or Amrothos. Rothos was having a bit of a bratty moment from what I could tell. Anyway, rambling aside, thank you! As always, I eagerly await the next chapter.

Report this review, #4237, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [80] Reviewer:Nargil Date:October 2, 2010 11:52 PM
Yay updates! I love this fic so much "The Andrahar buisness" really needs sorting out, I presume Imri was aranging for him not to have to be at dinner, that would have made things awkward.

I love Amrothos' baby comments and his outing of Imrahil. Also Eowyn, I almost feel sorry for her although her jibes about the horses and Imrahil's comment about Cearith dallying in Rohan are all very funny.

I like how Brand deals with Elboron, he's so practical and I like the common touch. I do feel sorry for him though, he's going to get home to Luin doing the "I have to gooo dance"

Glad your muse is happy again.

Nargil

Report this review, #4238, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz