Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10
Passages
by:Isabeau
 [31] Reviewer:Raksha06 Date:December 28, 2006 1:38 AM
Good scenes with Brand and everyone; I especially enjoyed his first act of patronage as a lord - rewarding Tullus' valor by recommending him to Erchirion.

But poor Andra; Brand needs to reconcile with him, though I suspect that won't happen so quickly.

Report this review, #3525, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [32] Reviewer:obsidianj Date:December 28, 2006 1:46 AM
Finally I have the time to catch up with this story. My, that was quite a turn Brand's birthday took. First the revelations about his father and Andrahar and then getting kidnapped. I loved his conviction that Andrahar would not abandon him. He kept his head and even devised a plan which bought time enough for the rescue team to catch up. Although having to kill a man at his age is hard. And he got to meet his father even if it was a dream, but since the members of the House of Dol Amroth are true dreamers he got more than he would have thought possible, especially with Imrahil's confirmation that he really saw Boromir. I love the way Imrahil and the rest of the family treat Brand. They show him without explicitly telling him that he is part of the family.

Report this review, #3526, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [33] Reviewer:mahari Date:December 29, 2006 2:37 AM
Lovely chapter. But most importantly, my shippy heart is afluttering... Imrahil grinned his pirateís grin at Heth!

Report this review, #3533, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [34] Reviewer:Denise Date:January 1, 2007 8:32 PM
Ch. 7 was a nice breather after the intensity of Brandís rescue and his conversation with Andrahar.

Loved Heth the Babysitter. Eiliriel is a treasure; Iím still laughing at her continued reference to Brand as ďBig BoyĒ and hang-up over crowns. The Callon and the Beanstalk ďtale within a taleĒ was marvelous and tied very neatly with actual facets of M-e, and Brand has indeed inherited some of Grandyís storytelling skills. Brandís recounting of his ordeal was handled very well, and Imrahilís gentle guidance was wonderful to see. I was very intrigued by how they tracked Brand down, and the further revelation of Imrahilís own gifts. Also, the reference to Boromirís skill in encouraging his men, and Brandís using the story to calm the children, was another great link to him being his fatherís son. And of course, the whole conversation between Erchirion, Brand and Tullus was very funny. Yay! for Tullus!

I think what struck me most in this chapter, though, was how subtly but beautifully you presented many different relationships. We see Brand and Hethlinís easy friendship once more, obviously a relief for Brand Ė she puts no demands on him whatsoever regarding his recent ordeal. We get a reference that Heth and Eowynís friendship has survived Eowynís betrothal and marriage to Faramir, with requisite jibes apparently intact. Someone else already mentioned Brandís relationship with the Dol Amroth royals, but it bears repeating: It is just lovely how we clearly see over and over that Brand is part of the family, respected and loved for who he is and not just tolerated as his much-loved fatherís bastard son.

Of course, for me, the best relationship we see is Heth and Imrahilís. It has not just rebounded from the uncomfortable situation currently in Silver Swan, but seems to have settled into more of a friendship between equals. Whether there is romance in their future or not, I was glad to see this: not only is such a high-placed mentorship/friendship good for Heth, but to me it spoke to a great development in her self-confidence. (Perhaps she is friendly with the entire royal family by now, actually; she mentions Erchirion very casually early on.)

Finally, I think Iíve figured out another reason why I like Imrahil so much: I am NOT a morning person either. That 90% of the world seems geared to early risers is a constant annoyance. :)

Wonderful continuation to the story, and Iím anticipating Brand and Andrahar's next conversation, with fingers crossed for their reconciliation.

Report this review, #3549, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [35] Reviewer:Altariel Date:January 3, 2007 8:36 AM
The story within the story, and the pirate's grin are delightful, but I also loved Brand recommending Tullus to Chiron.

Report this review, #3553, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [36] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:January 8, 2007 7:06 PM
I've just read the story so far, Isabeau, and I join in all the others in thanking you and praising the story -- very exciting tale!

Of course I had to go back to Silver Swan to see exactly what Glorfindel had said to Andrahar. I liked that Brand was able to communicate with his father, however briefly. I thought you handled the issue of Brand's doubts about Andra' relationship with Boromir very deftly, with a good ear for the worries a boy his age and experience would struggle with.

I did find little Eiliriel to be irritating rather than cute, but maybe she was meant to be. I appreciated getting glimpses of Hethlin a bit further along in her Swan Knight training. Of course it makes me wish to hear more of her story in particular, as her story interests me the most. But this is a welcome addition to your already impressive body of work!

I also really liked the clever re-working of Jack & the Beanstalk and how you incorporated it into the main story.

Really inspired stuff!

Many thanks for sharing it! And Happy New Year!

Report this review, #3560, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [37] Reviewer:Kat Date:February 26, 2007 7:36 PM
I love all of your stories, especially "Captain My Captain", but right now I'm thoroughly enjoying reading everything about Brand that I can. He's such a great character! Keep up the good work, I can't wait to read more :)

Report this review, #3603, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [38] Reviewer:Denise Date:April 23, 2007 7:13 AM
Ch. 8: Isabeau, you are without a doubt, well and most truly a horrible tease! First Brand's spine-chilling dream (No, not Caerith! Not another great horse gone! *sob*), then ending with that whole very entertaining Imrahil and Heth scene. And in between, your usual wonderful, delightful story-telling.

I so hope that Brand and Andra work through this before Andrahar leaves M.T. for Dale. Your CMC quote about misfortune loving a quarrel between friends keeps ringing through my head.

So Imrahil knows that Brand knows... and Heth seems to have managed a decent relationship with her fellow esquires. I am desperately hoping for more Silver Swan, but now you have me all fired up to follow her to Dale. I can't believe I'm saying this, but feel free to start another WiP on the heels of Passages... :)

Report this review, #3636, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [39] Reviewer:Inwai Date:April 23, 2007 9:17 PM
Love the new chapter! Brand is getting to be quite a little matchmaker isn't he?

Report this review, #3637, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [40] Reviewer:Nargil Date:April 24, 2007 10:59 PM
I love this new chapter Isabeau,

Poor Brand, and porr Andra as well they're both obviuosly tearing themselves to pieces over this, I do hope they can patch things up soon.

And poor Caerith, now I think I know why Imri looked so sad in Heth's vission, is nothing sacred! I do hope that between them Peloren and Cuiliast can patch him up.

I feel for Imri as well, the poor lad's homesick before he's even left, and Andra is obviously very busy.

I love the way Hethlin is getting on with the others though, I knew she could do it, she wormed her way in with the rangers she can do it again here, Imri's comment abouth her winning her belt was true as well.

I love his little story in the kitchen, and the way his staff worry so much over him, Brand's reaction to his clothes made me laugh as well.

That scene at the end with Imri and Heth was hillarious, Brand has obviously picked up on Andra's latest trick of despatching Hethlin to deal with Imri when he's misserable, and his comment about Heth liking him is to funny for words.

Another great chapter, I love this fic, Brand is such a wonderfull character and your phrase about him blossoming under Andra's care is right, he's gone from a scared kid into a happy and confident teenager, I hope they can patch things up soon, they need each other.

I hope your muse remains co-operative or else that Brand and Andra drop in for a natter soon and let you finnish this,

Nargil

Report this review, #3638, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz