Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
[1] 2 3 4 5
The Silver Swan
by:Isabeau
 [1] Reviewer:Raksha The Demon Date:May 22, 2005 2:35 PM
A very promising first chapter. Great characterisation and character interaction.

I loved Hethlin's memories of Faramir's storytelling - I wish you'd write a short story about it. The image of the Rangers huddled like large scruffy children around Faramir is just perfect.

I adore the Hethlin/Andra confrontation - it's just marvelous! Heth has got to stay on and become a Swannie - she and Andra remind me of the Odd Couple. Though I don't necessarily want to see him change his mind about her because she saves his life in battle or something - that would be too cliched. Hethlin is acting very young and immature; until one remembers that she is very young, young to be a Captain, and really too young to know what she wants out of life.

Becoming a Swannie would really force Hethlin to accept discipline, disapproval, and grow up. She was more or less adopted into the Rangers, who all loved her as a little sister and admired her skill from the start. It wouldn't hurt Hethlin to have to prove herself to a bunch of trainee Swannies, all of whom who are probably skilled, some of which might be better fighters than she is; and none of whom would have any reason to like her. It would be a major rite of passage for Hethlin, especially since there would be no one in the barracks with whom she's in love or whom consider her a member of their military family. Though I would hope they wouldn't be over-cruel or vicious.

More please, especially if there will be lots of Andra-presence!

RAKSHA THE DEMON, envisioning Andra making poor Heth do 1000 push-ups in the rain or something.

Report this review, #352, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [2] Reviewer:Nargil Date:May 22, 2005 4:07 PM
Imri- he started in a pleased tone of voice, then saw me. The pleasant expression upon his face vanished, to be replaced by stern formality. My lord prince. The Stud masters report upon the foalings so far this year. I thought you would like to see it.

What a personality change. We see a completley different side of Andrahar in this. I like it though, update soon please.

If a Dol-Amroth yule was right she goes south. I hope she does, you can have both your wonderful OC's in the same fic.

Tell Andrahar he is not old, he is as bad as Imrahil in captain. He is very defencive with people he does not know, from his past maybe.

I agree about the saving his life being a little to cliche but I think Heth should earn his respect, he is to nice a person under all the prickles.

Please update soon

Nargil.

Report this review, #353, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [3] Reviewer:Obsidianj Date:May 22, 2005 4:19 PM
Hurrah, the story of Hethlin continues. Promising start.

I like it that she is acting according her age. She is still very young and as a reader I tend to forget the age difference between her and Imrahil. Hethlin had to grow up very fast but some things you only learn with more experience.

Andrahar and Hethlin are shaping up to be an interesting combination. I hope they can come to a better understanding in time. But not too fast.

Poor Imrahil. He got it really bad. I think it would be best for him to get as far away as possible from Heth for a while. Although then I would miss their interaction. Didn't you mention letters?

I hope it is a foregone conclusion that she goes to Dol Amroth. I'm more interested in reading about Andrahar and by extension Imrahil than the about some unknown Northern Rangers.

Chris

Report this review, #354, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [4] Reviewer:radbooks Date:May 22, 2005 4:27 PM
So wonderful to have the sequel started and I love the title! :) It is such a hard decision for her to make and you do a good job of showing her turmoil. It was a great conversation between Hethlin and Andra and he did give her a lot of information even if it wasn't exactly advice and he wasn't particularly friendly to her. Then her talk with Imrahil and how she forced him to talk against his wishes. I so felt for him at the end when she touched him. sigh. Anyway, wonderful job as always and looking forward to more! By the way, are you going to be posting on ff.new anymore or just here? Radbooks

Report this review, #355, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [5] Reviewer:Gandalfs apprentice Date:May 22, 2005 8:16 PM
Hi Isabeau:
Thanks for your new story! I'm quite eager to follow it. Are you going to post "Captain, My Captain" on TFF as well?
Your characters are very real.
G.A.

Report this review, #356, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [6] Reviewer:Gandalfs apprentice Date:May 22, 2005 8:16 PM
Hi Isabeau:
Thanks for your new story! I'm quite eager to follow it. Are you going to post "Captain, My Captain" on TFF as well?
Your characters are very real.
G.A.

Report this review, #357, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [7] Reviewer:Jillian Date:May 22, 2005 9:27 PM
I can't say I mind the wait now. Hethlin has learned a lot in a short couple of hours, and I must say Imrahil frightened even me when he commanded Heth not to touch him. Poor guy!

Can't wait for the rest, but must of course.
Well done for the start of the sequal.

Report this review, #358, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [8] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:May 23, 2005 8:29 AM
This is an excellent chapter -- makes me love Imrahil all the more, and draws a link between the discerning Andrahar of Kinstrife & Noble Jewel, and the harsh Andrahar of Dol Amroth Yule. And also clarifies Hethlin's situation, the real reasons behind the choices that lie before her. Very well done!

Report this review, #359, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [9] Reviewer:Melina Date:May 23, 2005 10:56 AM
Wow, there is so much going on here!

My loyalties feel torn when Heth and Andra are together at this point, because I like them both so much, and I feel like Andra is being, well, sexist and unfair to her. I can see where he's coming from, but I don't have to like it! (Also I was wondering how he found out about Hethlin's feelings for Faramir? Would Imrahil have told him?)

I feel for Imrahil, too. It can't be easy to be around someone once you've opened your heart to them as he's done with her.

Lovely first chapter -- it's great to see this story continuing.

Regards
Melina

Report this review, #360, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [10] Reviewer:Lady Masterblott Date:May 23, 2005 11:21 AM
Won't say too much as I sense a certain similarity between the reception of my reviews (and sometimes misconceptions) and Heths presence as received by Andrahar - the inevitable evil, or so it seems... :)))

Anyway - loved it and am eager to read how things develop. (And I am looking forward to 'Dol Amroth Yule' in the context of Heth's training.)

Am also immensely interested in the training of the Swan Knights (left this chapter better-informed and with a lot to think about myself).

I am happy that your muse seems to be back for a while. Rest assured that I know how it feels.

(Mine, upon returning, barely recognised her place in my brain, for being gone so long. )

Glad you did it, and, as almost always, longing for the next chapter...

Margit

Report this review, #361, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
[1] 2 3 4 5
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz