Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
1 [2] 3 4 5
The Silver Swan
by:Isabeau
 [11] Reviewer:Altariel Date:May 23, 2005 5:06 PM
it would seem that you have matters arranged very nicely [...] you are free to return to your stitchery, or playing with your feathered friends, or tupping your elf-lord, or whatever it is you want to do instead of being a Swan Knight.

Yeowch, trust Andra to cut straight to the heart of the matter - or the bone!

I am so delighted to see this new story starting at last. The opening was beautifully done ("I am not a great teller of tales" - well, only 50+ chapters worth!). And Imri's very stern warning to Heth not to touch him gave me a shiver.

Well done - and congratulations!

Report this review, #362, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [12] Reviewer:Hannah Date:May 24, 2005 4:57 AM
"I am not a great teller of tales, though I have known many. Imrahil of Dol Amroth, for instance, could make the account of which suit of clothes he had chosen to wear that morning into an epic that would both amuse and entertain."

Given the chapter at the clothes shop in Kin strife it probably is an epic. Great opening, great chapter. Keep writing writing.

Hannah

Report this review, #363, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [13] Reviewer:Sprite Date:May 24, 2005 12:55 PM
!

Thank you.

:)

The characterization of Imrahil you have is amazing - I practically jumped back in shock (as I imagine someone might if you touch someone and they flinch) when Heth touched him on the arm.

I was amazed to find that you'd continued - I'd almost given up on the hope of more to come. But I am very, very happy that you have chosen to write more of Heth's story. I happily await your next chapter.

Oh, and just so you know, I linked a rl friend who like hp fics to Captain with the warning "This is my fav fic of all time" and he was cursing me the next morning for not getting any sleep ;)

Report this review, #364, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [14] Reviewer:bardess Date:May 24, 2005 3:15 PM
hmmmm I get it, in order for a woman to be an equal in the professional world, she basically has to be a lot better and put twice the effort into it. Once again you have hit the nail on the head. Welcome back.

Report this review, #366, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [15] Reviewer:Eilenach Date:May 24, 2005 9:02 PM
Well, I told myself I wasn't going to get started on yet another fanfiction IN PROGRESS, no matter how wonderful. But tonight I gave in to The Silver Swan. To me, it was like getting a wonderful, newsy letter from an old friend, getting me caught up on all the happenings and gossip.
I love the round-about way this story started. Everyone is re-introduced, just not in an obvious way. Faramir and the Rangers lead to a story from the north, which leads to a comparison between north and south, which leads to Hethlin's grandfather in the current time pressuring Hethlin to go north. Very nicely done!
I thank you for the great conversations between Andrahar, Hethlin, and Imrahil which outline exactly what it means to be a Swan Knight. I think her choice is clear now. Hethlin is very competitive, and I think she relishes the idea of testing herself in the Swan Knights.
I feel sorry for Imrahil! I was surprised by his reaction to her touch, but he obviously feels VERY STRONGLY about her. In a way, it reminds me of John Adams in the musical "1776." (I'm dating myself here.) The young Thomas Jefferson is complaining to the older John Adams that he can't write the Declaration of Independence because he must go be with his wife -- this didn't actually happen, by the way.
Thomas Jefferson: "But I burn, Mr. A!"
Adams: So do I, Mr. J!"
Various others: "You do? John! Who'd have thought it!"
Anyway, three cheers for the continuation of Hethlin's story! I hope your muse goes into overdrive so we can get frequent updates from Hethlin on the goings-on in Gondor and Dol Amroth.

Report this review, #367, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [16] Reviewer:Makamu Date:May 31, 2005 7:44 AM
The long wait has definitely been worth it and I at once felt welcomed in your Ardaverse again :) Andrahar was wonderful as ever (by the by: would you mind if I borrowed him for the rest of "Encounters" as well? With credit of course!) and I truly feel the heaviness of Heth's decision. Despite being a Heth/Imrahil person, I would personally like Hethlin to go North first, though Andra's arguments make perfect sense to me :) Great job and I will of course stay tuned

Report this review, #372, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [17] Reviewer:Christine Date:June 20, 2005 12:56 AM
The beginning of another wonderful story. I look forward to more.
I love how you have made Hethlin such a strong yet simple and honest woman who holds her own against so many people.
I also particularly love the Andrahar/Imrahil relationship in these stories.

Report this review, #394, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [18] Reviewer:Elvenesse Date:June 30, 2005 12:15 PM
I'm really happy to see this updated. I must go and poke around the site and see if there are update alerts or something.

It's so nice to see Heth, and Imri and Andra again. You can see how young she is here, and it'll be interesting to see her grow up. I don't think she'll be going north just yet (especially given the title) - though you may surprise us. Training for her white belt (it seems strange to me to not be saying 'black'), will be the hardest thing she ever done, and I think it'll be good for her.

I've been rereading some of your work - have Ultimatums and Kin-Strife really not been updated since last year? I hope you update as soon as you can. And may your muses keep on prodding!

Report this review, #406, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [19] Reviewer:Sammy Date:July 12, 2005 1:59 AM
Ahem, yes I did post this very review on your fanfiction profile... but so is the twisted mind of Sammy. Oh, and by the way, the reviews that preceded this one are the first that I've ever actually enjoyed reading... well said, with interesting comments, etc. So of course I had to come along and put an end to that! :o)
Anyways, here's my little review:
Yeah! Thank you for beginning a new chapter in the life of Hethlin, who is an absolutely fantastic character. If your snippet story "Dol Amroth Yule" is any indication of what is to come, I can't wait. Though as much as it pains me to say this, I do have a comment: the 24-7-365 wisdom and goodness of Imrahil is starting to get... do I dare say it, annoying. Could he please not be so perfect! (There's a twisted wish.) And as much as I am, in a round about way, hoping that everything works out for Hethlin and Imrahil... he almost seems wrong for her in his perfectness, oldness, having children her ageness and the slight inevitableness of their being a couple. Ha, like those grammatical errors?
Anyways, congratulations on creating a character and story that people care about. Or that I at least care about. Thank you.

Report this review, #416, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [20] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:October 7, 2005 5:03 PM
I was so happy to see an update for Silver Swan! It's a good chapter, conveying the confusing new issues in Hethlin's life and the uncertainties she must figure out. I *loved* the duel, and really appreciated the idea that men -- and Haradrim at that -- might have something to teach the Elves. I also really liked the depiction of Amrothos, so single-minded in his pursuit of knowledge. Poor Imrahil -- I don't think Hethlin is right for him (nor vice-versa) but I hope he gets some in the near future -- hasn't it been something like seventeen years? He deserves an intelligent, cultured, sexy woman who isn't still in love with his nephew and soul-bonded to an Elf.

I hope there will be more coming soon!

Report this review, #502, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
1 [2] 3 4 5
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz