Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
1 [2] 3 4
The Last Yule in Halabor
by:Soledad
 [11] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 7, 2005 2:17 PM
7: Rebecca has put it beautifully that it's like opening the windows of a house to get a glimpse inside these varied lives.

I liked the sound of onion tea. I bet I wouldn't if I tried it...

Report this review, #561, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [12] Reviewer:Nargil Date:December 8, 2005 11:31 AM
loving these stories, so much better than the mars bar advent calender I have here and what a wonderful idea, you can get in all the little random ideas that don't have enough to be a story by themselves.

Paricularly like the one armed warden and the rugmaker stories.

Nargil

Report this review, #563, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [13] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 8, 2005 4:36 PM
8. I'm very glad that Lothhael got away, and that Belegorn knew some real happiness before his death.

Report this review, #564, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [14] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:December 9, 2005 2:37 AM
I don't know why I didn't see the footnotes describing the orc attack and destruction of the village when I was reading earlier chapters a couple of days ago. Now that I've spotted them, the stories are more bittersweet. In a strange coincidence, before I found the footnotes I'd thinking about the charcoal burner's family, and wondering about their safety on the outskirts of the village. I'm glad that they survived the attack, although their subsequent fates weren't so happy (except perhaps the older daughter).

I appreciate how willing you are to create nuanced, sympathetic, but imperfect characters and then subject them to tragic ends.

Report this review, #565, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [15] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 9, 2005 1:05 PM
9. I liked the different types of healing in this chapter: the unworldly healing of the Elves, and the day-to-day living that brought her a different kind of healing.

Report this review, #566, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [16] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:December 10, 2005 3:51 PM
Re chapter 11: Thanks for depicting a birthing chamber with such realistic detail -- everything opened and loosened, honey & salt. The risks. Men nowhere near.

And I'm glad that Mistress Dorlas and her father made it to safety. Gotta let *some* of the good ones endure!

Report this review, #568, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [17] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 13, 2005 11:52 PM
10: I felt almost sorry for Rhybwrast, wasting her entire life in jealousies and ambition. But not as sorry as I felt for poor Ogarmach.

Report this review, #574, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [18] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 13, 2005 11:57 PM
11: Beautifully done, and you handled the details well without it feeling expositional. I liked the bit about her doubting the crane's foot did any actual good, but that it mattered that people believed in it.

Report this review, #575, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [19] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 14, 2005 12:03 AM
12: A very warm chapter with a particularly sympathetic set of characters. I like how the town is coming alive as I read each new chapter.

Report this review, #576, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [20] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 14, 2005 11:32 AM
13: Another richly detailed portrait. The last lines added particular poignancy to the story.

Report this review, #577, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
1 [2] 3 4
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz