Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
[1] 2 3 4
The Last Yule in Halabor
by:Soledad
 [1] Reviewer:bardess Date:November 30, 2005 10:02 PM
You are populating Halabor with very likeable people. A pity you intend to kill some of them off in an orc raid. hard times call for harsh measures. Halabor seems a very real place. It makes me think of Hitzaker, a small town on the Elbe River in Germany.

Report this review, #547, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [2] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 1, 2005 1:42 PM
Lovely to get this glimpse of Gondor from a perspective other than those warrior princes.

(But very sad about the note at the end of chapter 1.)

Report this review, #548, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [3] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 1, 2005 1:45 PM
Day 2: a sad chapter, but all too true.

Report this review, #549, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [4] Reviewer:Wild Iris Date:December 1, 2005 9:45 PM
What a wonderfully detailed scene. And I loved the subtle humour in this line: "a penniless cousin of his wife, and thus more or less family" - 'more or less', yes :)

I wish you all luck with keeping this up for the next 23 days.

Report this review, #550, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [5] Reviewer:bardess Date:December 1, 2005 11:55 PM
Gondor is very like Mitteleuropa. Your voice is authentic; your setting impeccable. The Old Folk could be Wends; and the Dunedain, Sachsen or Teutonic people. They live credible, medieval European lives. I enjoy reading your vision of Miidle Earth. This is the most interesting to date and I hope you intend to continue the larger novel.

Report this review, #551, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [6] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 2, 2005 11:25 AM
Another rich portrait. I love that Tegen chooses to do something which is the complete opposite of her father's trade, and yet depends on his trade.

Report this review, #553, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [7] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 5, 2005 11:11 AM
4: Lovely weaving of cultural detail and the detail of their craft, and their lives together.

Report this review, #556, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [8] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 5, 2005 4:57 PM
5. A side of life we see hardly anything of - that of the very poor. Another good chapter.

Report this review, #557, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [9] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 6, 2005 9:00 AM
6. Delightful chapter - very glad we've had a Santa story!

Report this review, #558, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [10] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:December 7, 2005 3:58 AM
What delightful little stories! My sister and I used to have advent calendars, unlike the German ones these just had little pictures behind the windows, rather than treats. But we loved the calendars, and these stories do remind me of opening the shutters of the houses on my calendar to see a glimpse of the inner lives within.

Radish/carrot syrup and onion tea sound absolutely awful!

Report this review, #560, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
[1] 2 3 4
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz