Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
1 [2]
The Return of the Shadow
by:JunoMagic
 [11] Reviewer: Date:May 16, 2006 3:32 PM
Juno,

What a great chapter. Everything seems to be coming together from you other stories. When I saw the name Elaine I was jumping up and down, "I know who it is! I know who it is!" :) You write a story like an excellent artist paints a picture. I've enjoyed this story so much, and it's a wonderful break from studying for finals. Three down, one more to go, and a jury to finish out the year! Thank you for continuing to write.

Gronyats

Report this review, #3267, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [12] Reviewer:Teresa Date:May 18, 2006 11:44 AM
Hey, I'm not sure if your remember me, I reviewed a couple of your stories some time ago :) anyway, I wanted to let you know how delighted I was to find that you have continued this story (I first read it when it had only about 6 chapters and then somehow forgot about it). I did hope that it would be finished already, I am way to impatient to wait for updates :D
The story itself is wonderful ( as is all your work), I started reading it at 10am and now it's 3pm here and I would go on if only there was more to read ;) Please hurry with the updates... By the way, I also really liked your "World of Moons", are you posting that somewhere, or is it on pause for now?

Report this review, #3269, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [13] Reviewer:Radbooks Date:July 17, 2006 4:30 AM
Oh, thank you for posting a new chapter and I hope there is a new one out very, very soon! It was interesting having it be from Elaine's POV - I saw on the HASA board that that was the only way you could get her to speak to you and that worked well in that situation. It would have been a difficult decision for her to give them the cats and yet she had to know that there they were so desperate. I am anxious to see what the scroll contains AND to see if they ever find out just who Tolkien really was. Thanks again for sharing your story.

Report this review, #3306, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [14] Reviewer:Mike Kellner Date:October 11, 2006 2:44 PM
RE:21 - Following the Cats

This is a great chapter. Well worth the wait.

I don't want to spoil anything, so I'll just say well done. This is a great story.

Report this review, #3399, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [15] Reviewer:Imhiriel Date:October 11, 2006 5:44 PM
Chapter 21:
Oh Juno, I sincerely hope you will find the time to continue soon! That was a hell of an exciting, scary chapter! And through it all, the descriptions, the details, the smells, sights, sounds, were marevellous!

At the end, I was going like this:

You are in Aman, the Damned Realm.

Huh?

"I'm Celebrķan (...) formerly wife of Elrond Peredhel.

What?

Now runaway slave and leader of our army, or whatever is left of it."

What?! Ooooh!!!

Report this review, #3400, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [16] Reviewer:Mike Kellner Date:October 13, 2006 7:31 PM
Re: Chapter 22

Another great chapter!

Not what I expected. No fluffy visit to the Middle-earth.

Many astounding things. Nothing small.

I love it.

Report this review, #3401, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [17] Reviewer:pandemonium Date:March 8, 2007 11:08 PM
JunoMagic,

This is less of a review than a plea (followed by much nattering): is there any chance that another chapter of The Return of the Shadow might appear one day or are these secreted elsewhere? I have returned here every so often to see if there's an addition, but *sigh* no such luck. I will wait patiently, but be forewarned that I will tap my foot and drum my fingers. If that doesn't tell you how much I am enjoying this serial, I'll be direct: I am really enjoying the serial. The pacing and characterizations are good, and as a sci-fi fan, I am tickled by your incorporation of that particular genre into this story.

You should know that I blame you and that Felagund woman for my falling off the "I'm too cool for Tolkien school" wagon. Last December, I re-read the trilogy for n^th time, and picked up my old (as in 1977) copy The Silmarillion and read some chunks of that, also for the n^th time, after a long hiatus, as in many years.

Out of perverse curiosity, and aided and abetted by the ease of Google, I dared to search for Tolkien fan fiction. I don't know what compelled me to search it out. Recent neurobiological research indicates that our brains light up seconds before we make a decision or a movement, which questions the validity of true free will. Was that it? Was my long dormant Mary Sue finally making her daring bid for freedom, unbeknownst to me? I didn't even know what a Mary Sue was, or a Tenth Walker for that matter. "Canon" meant little to me, too.* And "slash?" Uh, what the f*ck? Oh, wait, that's what it is!

What was I thinking? I thought I had kicked my J.R.R. Tolkien addiction years ago, what with Great Big Real Life coming to the fore these past decades of raising two children, now teenagers, and emersing myself in my career as a scientist. Oh, sure, I watched the PJ movies, enjoyed them, but although entertaining, they didn't send me over the edge. I maintained my oh-so-hip cynical view of fandom of all ilk, fueled by the hilarious movie, Trekkies. As an avid amateur observer of pop culture, I found derisive glee in the nerds who donned costumes with rubber elf ears at Cons and other such sociological oddities.

I mean, I am the mother who said, when her son, then a freshman in high school, asked if he could go play Dungeons and Dragons with his friends, "Why don't you just put a sign on your back that says, 'Kick Me?'" Truth be told, I could not come to terms with my deeply suppressed memory of writing torrid little love letters to my equally Tolkien-crazed high school boyfriend in Sindarin...using Tengwar script.

But...but...then I read "Lothiriel, parts 1 and 2" and "Return of the Shadow,' oh, and "Only a Game," "The Harper," and what I could of "The Tides of Time and the Bones of Earth." With regard to the latter, yes, I would like to read more please. After this foray in the Junoverse, I devoured Dawn's "Another Man's Cage."

Dawn's already received my accolades for AMC and her other work, and via under the e-mail radar, I have told her how much I enjoy your contributions, so I figured I really ought to go public with my kudos to you for making AU and 10th Walkers so entertaining.

- pandemonium

*Now that I do know what canon means, I still think little of it!

Report this review, #3609, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [18] Reviewer:Arandil Date:August 11, 2007 1:30 AM
Thank you for the heads up about the chapter. Another great one as usual. I'm glad you haven't abandoned the story.

I will wait patiently for the nexxt installment.

Report this review, #3751, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [19] Reviewer:Rachel Date:January 19, 2009 11:08 PM
I love this story; you are such a good story teller that I just can’t stop reading your work. I like the twists and turns in the story, especially the bit on Aman, and how your other stories link together to make a bigger pitcher. I hope you continue this work soon.

Report this review, #4051, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
1 [2]
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz