Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
[1] 2
The Return of the Shadow
by:JunoMagic
 [1] Reviewer:obsidianj Date:February 18, 2006 2:53 AM
I'm happy to see that you are continuing this story. I was surprised when I saw it here, but then discovering a new chapter made my day.

I love the tension between Elentar and Mina. She can't quite figure him out and is not even remotely thinking he might be an elf. Although the clues are there all along.

I hope you will not take another year to continue. I'm quite eager to eavesdrop on their dinner conversation. I hope the dog will not die too soon. He seems to be some kind of bridge between the 2 main characters. At least the dog forced Elentar to accept the command to dinner.

Report this review, #666, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [2] Reviewer:Orondo Brandybuck Date:February 24, 2006 5:05 AM
Your work's concept is original and intriguing. I would like very much to read more.

Report this review, #680, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [3] Reviewer:oshun Date:March 4, 2006 6:03 AM
What an amazing story. I can't wait to read more.

Report this review, #695, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [4] Reviewer:Oshun Date:March 19, 2006 3:18 AM
I love this amazing story. It just gets more and more interesting. Now that he has revealed so much, I am especially anxious as to know what will come next. What an amazing storyteller you are--but I already knew that. Thanks for the reading pleasure.
Oshun

Report this review, #3178, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [5] Reviewer:Radbooks Date:March 24, 2006 6:24 AM
Juno, I just finished this up tonight and I thoroughly enjoyed this piece of your 'JunoVerse'. For some reason I had forgotten about it when I read the other stories that this is linked to, though maybe I was waiting to see if you were going to continue writing it! ;) In any case, it is a marvelous part of the series.

The flashback idea for Elentar works well and now I am hoping that we will find out how he ended up where he is at right now. I would think that he will now have to tell his story to Mina and so that will fill in the blanks.

I like Mina, perhaps because I can relate to her in some ways. Single, struggling to make ends meet, loving Tolkien (pretty obvious there!) I love her compassion even though I could never see myself doing what she has done in inviting Elentar into her home, but I love that she has the courage to do so! :)

I have more mixed feelings about Elentar for some reason. I do feel for him and yet I'm also angry at him for the pain he caused his family! He probably could be in Aman if he had listened to Elrohir and gone to get the boat in Dol Amroth yet what teenager does listen to their parents. ;) And the boat needs to be used later so that's a good thing. And he's in such a horrible state right now that my heart aches for him. So, see mixed feelings for the poor elf!

A wonderful tale can bring all kinds of emotions out in its readers and this one has so far.

Thanks for sharing! Radbooks

Report this review, #3187, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [6] Reviewer:obsidianj Date:March 25, 2006 3:26 AM
You are fast! I really like the beginning. This chapter is really sad. With the additions at the beginning Elentar's motivations for drinking and his depression make much more sense.

Report this review, #3188, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [7] Reviewer:Radbooks Date:April 2, 2006 4:36 AM
I really enjoyed reading the last two chapters. The grief of Elentar over his lost love in chapter 13 along with the measure of joy and friendship that he had with Mozart. Both were touching.

Now in 14 to see how the stories connect with each other is very exciting. I loved the moments between Elentar and Mina... the uncertainty and disbelief and then how they had to come to acceptance separately from one another. I'm looking forward to the next chapter.

Oh, thanks for your comment in an earlier email about my story, 'In Aragorn's Safekeeping'. I'm glad you're hearing good things about it and hope you have a chance to read it some day. I would like to do some work on the first 7 - 8 chapters before posting it here, but am busy with my other stories. :) You know how that is!

Report this review, #3196, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [8] Reviewer:Teresa Date:April 9, 2006 8:37 PM
Mozart - "The first faint echo of the Ainulindalė"

You won my heart with that line. Thank you.

Report this review, #3227, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [9] Reviewer:Imhiriel Date:April 27, 2006 8:27 PM
Chapter 18

Oh - what a clever twist! I absolutely didn't see it coming.

While reading I went, "Yeah, what _about_ Tolkien and cats?". I did remember the appropriate passages, but it seems like it was a perfect example for not seeing the forest for the trees: I failed to take not of the _precise_ words Tolkien used.

Brilliant answer to the question of how to get to Middle-earth.

Report this review, #3248, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)

 [10] Reviewer:Radbooks Date:April 30, 2006 1:46 AM
I've been enjoying this very much, but haven't taken the time to review these last few chapters. Sorry!

I wanted to cry during the scene where Elentar confessed that he hadn't been touched by anyone for a 100 years... that was so heartbreaking. How important that kind of intimacy is... not sexual, but just family hugs and touches. Very moving.

I NEVER thought she would get pregnant though! That totally shocked me... it's exciting though. How does Mina know, though? Is it because the child is part elvish that she can tell already? That is my guess.

Having read your other stories, I knew that when the issue of the cats came up there was something there and now I wonder if this story is also going to tie in with Tides of Time. There were certainly cats in that one.

My friend and I were joking about not letting my cat outside unless I really wanted to go to ME. I told her I had to wait until I finished up all of the stories I have in my head first! So, I guess I won't be going.

Looking forward to the next chapter!

Report this review, #3249, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
[1] 2
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz