Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
Moments in Time
by:Larner
 [1] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:August 15, 2005 7:24 PM
Really lovely! I thought you did the "dialect" of the Shire (translated into English, of course) so well, Sam's speech seemed so true. As did Bilbo's and Frodo's. I liked the metaphor of transplanting, and that Frodo first thought about "thinning," which was also appropriate but darker and more callous. Leave it to Sam to redeem him.

Report this review, #457, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [2] Reviewer:Vistula Date:August 22, 2005 3:43 AM
Oh Larner, I love these two short stories! They are both such wonderful little gap-fillers.

I love the contrast you make between “thinning” and “transplanting” in Thinning and how you use the metaphor with regard to Frodo’s impending departure from the Shire. How appropriate to see him as being “transplanted” to a place so that both he and Sam and his family can grow better.

I also love that it is Sam who teaches him the value of preserving rather than disposing. This is so very like the Sam I envision.

As for Stricken From the Book, this one really made me sad. To think that Frodo was so sick in his soul that he’d remove himself from his own family history is heartrending. The contrast between his self-immolation and that done to Lotho and Timono is so well done. I am glad that you have those closest to him righting that wrong. What a tragically beautiful work.

Your “post Ring War” stories about Frodo and Sam are very touching and they fill in some of the empty holes quite nicely. Please, keep up with the wonderful vignettes. While I don’ t have a lot of time to read some of your more in depth works recently, I am thrilled to devour these smaller ones!

Kudos to you, Larner. Delightful as always!

Report this review, #466, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [3] Reviewer:Vistula Date:September 28, 2005 7:30 AM
'Gifts of Scholarship' is another wonderful tale Larner! I really enjoyed the image of these very talented and scholarly individuals stymied by a simple nailing project. I'm sure poor Sam would have been mortified to find out how many fine gentlefolk were wounded in the making of his bench. Very enjoyable read!!

BTW...if you haven't done so already, this might make a nice entry for the HASA "Runaway Aragorn" Challenge. Just a thought:-)

Report this review, #495, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [4] Reviewer:Vistula Date:October 22, 2005 4:06 AM
"Message in a Bottle" is another sweet "snap shot" of the post Ring War Hobbits. The concept of a mathom bottle of Old Winyards is so believable and I can easily see the yearly exchange. How sad that it becomes another symbol of the irrevocable changes that the Ring brought about.

I *do* like the thought that they are able to contact Frodo and that he is able to reply in kind. I love the little "nudge" given by Ulmo:-)

Well done, my dear. As always!

Report this review, #521, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [5] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:December 11, 2005 1:49 AM
Re Parting Gifts: What a lovely piece, a subtle depiction of Galadriel's complexity. And wise to consider how any gift to Frodo would have to compete with the power of the One Ring.

Report this review, #571, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [6] Reviewer:Vistula Date:June 16, 2006 5:11 AM
Oh Larner, I love "In Memorium" very much. For a short and concise piece, it carries a great deal of emotional impact. Well done! I love these little "moments" of yours.

Report this review, #3289, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [7] Reviewer:Radbooks Date:June 25, 2007 3:37 PM
I really, really enjoyed Vocabulary Lessons. I could just see that cocky young lord, you made him very real in such a short story and I'd love to see a follow-up. :) There was a hint of hope there at the end, though I suspect that the best thing for him would be to get away from home to really learn about 'nobility, service, honor, and humility'. I have a hunch that those would be very difficult for him to learn at home. :)

Very nicely done!

Report this review, #3713, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [8] Reviewer:Vistula Date:July 4, 2007 11:32 PM
So now I see what has been keeping you busy, my friend. I look forward to catching up on some of these "shorter" pieces. You know how much I enjoy your Frodo and Sam work.

Report this review, #3734, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [9] Reviewer:Vistula Date:January 20, 2008 3:21 AM
OMG! What a random choice I made...
I just happened to click on 'Don't Linger, Sweet Brother' and I loved it. Talk about a tug at the heart strings. *sigh* Beautifully sad.

Report this review, #3855, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [10] Reviewer:Vistula Date:January 20, 2008 3:30 AM
Okay, now I have to stop this. I'm having a "sad" enough night tonight without reading these happily sad tales of yours (no matter how much I enjoy them). 'Of Kittens and Coins' really struck a chord in me - having just purchased a home. I can so easily see Frodo using this method for turning over Bag End to Sam and Rosie. I love the juxtaposition of the giving of the carving of a home to Sam in place of his payment. Splendidly done.

Report this review, #3856, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz