Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
The Blue Book of Bilbo Baggins, or, Tales of the Forbidden Silmarillion
by:Gandalfs apprentice
 [1] Reviewer:Denise Date:January 8, 2007 10:20 PM
You're right, GA, with a story description like that, I did indeed want to read it... :)

I'm glad that you are continuing on from Tyellas' wonderful Lost in Translation - tales like this should not remain tucked away in dusty shelves!

Very nice intro by Bilbo. It sets up the premise for both the book itself and its place in the archives, and I thought captured Bilbo's voice really well, plus gave a lovely nod to Aragorn and Bilbo's friendship.

The story of Uinen and how she came to "save" the children of Numenor, and the resulting mournful nature of the sea and rain, was well done. I loved the tidbit about the "blessed" beach, and how you highlighted the often inexplicable nature of M-e's divinities.

Looking forward to more!

Report this review, #3561, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [2] Reviewer:Maeve Date:January 11, 2007 10:19 PM
Oh, my... what a wonderful adaptation! I´m still a bit shocked at imagining Nienna being as vengeful as Athena (but not as much as imagining Maeglin being Idril´s husband... apparently he´s sort of embedded in my brain as "the guy who never gets what he wants") And the bribes of the Valier... :D :D:D
I would have imagined Vána to be the equivalent of Aphrodite instead than Yavanna, though. On the other hand, isn´t Yavanna Aulë´s wife? Hmmmh... you made me think here. ;)

Report this review, #3564, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [3] Reviewer:Maeve Date:January 14, 2007 10:56 AM
Now, that was some delightful tale. Though I dearly wish for Arwen´s sake that Éowyn doesn´t understand her idea of giving this to Faramir for help as an ah... well, insinuation. If I were her, I´d... wonder. ;)

Ah, well. I saw it coming (because I have read the original tale Once Upon a Time), yet some part of me wished that the Troll Hag could have stayed a Troll Hag... I love weird pairings. *disturbing gleam*

Still going strong!

Report this review, #3567, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [4] Reviewer:Maeve Date:February 9, 2007 7:20 PM
This is the best from you yet. And I mean it.

The synchretism of myths (I even spotted the "Northern" reference, though Greece and Rome are my thing) borders delirium sometimes, yet you have a perfect control on what you´re doing. And it is funny, Very funny. And beautiful.
And above all: your story has spotted Tolkien´s main "failure" quite accurately, even while you "perpetrate" his view on the Valar´s nature. Because Tolkien´s world lacks something in order to become a true world: mythology and religion, which are a key element for any civilisation in the world. As long as the reader has to keep viewing Arda under the Catholic/Neoplatonic prism of his author, there will be something that does not quite ring true in it (With all my respects for the Professor)

Report this review, #3594, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [5] Reviewer:Maeve Date:February 26, 2007 11:02 PM
Well worth the wait! This is the best of all, by far, and right from Glorfindel´s interlude in the beginning (indeed, who would have thought he could be confused with other people? ;))
The story of the Great Mother reminded me of two myths: the vengeful Earth of Hesiod´s Theogony, and the usurped matriarchate of Japanese legend. The inverse echoes of the Genesis were also subtly done. Your ability for weaving myths together grows exponentially through this story!

Report this review, #3604, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [6] Reviewer:Maeve Date:March 6, 2007 9:27 PM
Interesting... *ahem* Really interesting. Not to mention revealing.

Somehow, I am now stuck with an image of Aelfwine with Tolkien´s own face. LOL.

Though I think I must have missed the part of Beren and Lúthien "doing unspeakable things to each other" in this fic... was it censured? :)

Report this review, #3607, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [7] Reviewer:Maeve Date:March 7, 2007 10:07 PM
Ah, the joys of textual critic! *grins like a mad philologist*

I wish I could have got a name dismissal, too (like: "she doesn´t even put an "h" to her pen name!"), but I suppose they haven´t heard of me yet. ^_`

Anyway, hearthy congrathulathions for thurviving this madneth (relatively) unthcathed! I probably wouldn´t have.

Maeve, (recently appointed) Valar Basher

Report this review, #3608, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [8] Reviewer:Denise Date:April 15, 2007 6:14 AM
I was finally able to sit down and finish this. You've done a wonderful job of interweaving different myths and legends while still turning each M-e version into a unique and humorous (and often telling) tale. The intros are excellent stories in their own right, AElfwine and his meddling were very funny, and I really enjoyed your final notes. This was a great idea, and very well carried out.

Report this review, #3628, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz