Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
Confirmation
by:Isabeau
 [1] Reviewer:Radbooks Date:October 1, 2006 2:11 AM
I'm so glad you decided to post this fragment as I've wondered about their first meeting. I'm sure that Brand would be frightened about meeting Imrahil after seeing him in full princely mode when dealing with those pirates - it would scare anyone. (By the way, I can't believe Chirion seriously believed his father would let the woman live after she tried to kill all of them. Men!)

You could tell that Imrahil had been around children and knew how to speak with them and was able to put him at ease rather quickly... which was nice. Unlike Faramir does when he meets him. :) I particularly enjoyed the ending when Brand couldn't sleep because he was worried about Andra, but then when he saw that Imrahil was taking care of him he was able to sleep immediately.

Thanks for sharing!

Report this review, #3381, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [2] Reviewer:Soledad Date:October 1, 2006 12:42 PM
Too lazy to log in...
Anyway, this was very interesting. I liked how you've added more facets to Imrahil's character. Seeing him at his cold-blooded worst (or best? it's really a matter of perception) was a welcome change. I mean, I like him when he's all jovial and understanding, but I liked to see his duty-bound side as well.

The small hints to "The Best Gift of All" were a nice touch as well.

Report this review, #3382, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [3] Reviewer:horsiegurl Date:October 2, 2006 12:56 AM
I really liked this new story of Brand. I read the others. I read all of what you have posted here and on fanfiction.net. I can't wait for more of Brand and of course Hethlin. I think you should have a story of Brand seeing his mother and siblings again, after all Brand promised to show them his new horse. Thanks.

Report this review, #3384, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [4] Reviewer:Pinky Date:October 2, 2006 6:42 AM
I was so excited to see an update! I love your writing more than anyone's (including the books I have). Tsk tsk for making us wait so long! This was lovely and heartwrenching... you are good at that, you know? I love everything you write. Write more often!

Report this review, #3385, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [5] Reviewer:obsidianj Date:October 3, 2006 12:22 AM
Thanks for posting this little story. It might be a fragment. But many little fragments still give a picture. I love the different sides you show of Imrahil here. He is grim and in his persona of his office at the hanging as Brand sees him first and then when Brand gets to know him he shows a completely different side. We don't see the grim Imrahil often in your stories, but every once in a while we should be reminded that he wields power and why.

Report this review, #3386, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [6] Reviewer:Nargil Date:October 3, 2006 6:34 PM
Do I frighten you, Brandmir? You have no reason to fear me, I assure you.

He frightened me, that was quite a chilling scene, I always figured the woman trouble beteen Erchirion and Imrahil was to do with Velda although the circumstances where different, still it's better your way.

I love the hall of portraits and the little nods at your earlier stories. Glad too see Imrahil managed to convince Brand that he won't eat him.

Thanks for another fantastic story

Nargil

Report this review, #3387, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [7] Reviewer:Imhiriel Date:October 4, 2006 8:35 PM
Now we know what that business was with Erchirion that was alluded to in Altariel's "The Lost"!
Brand so openly admiring Hethlin is rather cute, and Imrahil's instant response and Brand's observation of the issue were very moving. I'm surprised Andra would have told Brand this, though, as is rather personal, and they wanted to keep it secret anyway. So I'm very curious about this talk between Andra and Brand about Boromir, Imrahil and Hethlin.
Imrahil's sadness infuses the whole story, giving it a melancholy tone that make the humorous lines stand out all the more and "help" balance it. Imrahil was wonderful with Brand, patient and open and kind. And that not only with having to contend with his grief because of Boromir, but also because of the pirates, Erchirion's unreasonableness and the shock of Brand's existence. Being in close proximity to Heth (and knowing that Elrohir had been/still was (?) keeping her company) wouldn't have helped matters either...
At first, I thought the figure with the bottles at the end was a vision of Boromir from "Motherless", but it was comforting to know (just as it is for Brand) that it was really Imrahil going to Andrahar to help him.

Report this review, #3388, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [8] Reviewer:Nargil Date:October 4, 2006 11:41 PM
I thought it was a vission of Boromir as well but from one of his trips to Dol-Amroth after he and Andra where toghether that we never read about, weird.

Report this review, #3389, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [9] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:October 20, 2006 9:26 PM
Hooray, a new installation! I'm glad the pirate wench was hung -- good for Imrahil. I like Imrahil more and more the more often he appears in your stories, Isabeau! I'm surprised that Erchirion remained besotted with her even after watching her attempted assasination of his family (including him). Would have thought that outrage, and embarrassment that he hadn't seen through her charade, would have cooled any ardor he felt. Men!

Report this review, #3407, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [10] Reviewer:Denise Date:August 15, 2007 12:01 AM
I spontaneously reread this, and am struck anew with how well done this "fragment" is. Not only by all the myriad references to other works in the Unabeauverse, so naturally and smoothly referenced, or the future images from "Passages" that are conjured (many of which I missed the first time). Not just by the excellent characterizations and the lovely writing itself (superb, as always). Nor simply by the perfect timeline (Imrahil being logically back in Dol Amroth for the date of Boromir's death).

Rather, I am struck hardest by how wonderful and subtle your depiction is, of the connection forming between these two. It is a real blessing to witness it, and I hope we get more one day of a grown Brand and his Grandy.

Thanks again for sharing this. Please feel free to post any and all "fragments" you wish!

Report this review, #3754, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz