Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
The Falcon and the Star
by:Raksha06
 [1] Reviewer:Linda Date:August 2, 2006 4:03 PM
This is quite simply the best HOH story ever written. I Love the way that by finding Faramir's lost spirit, ARagorn finds his own true destiny too.

Report this review, #3326, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [2] Reviewer:Julia Date:August 2, 2006 9:16 PM
I love HOH stories, and this is one of my favorites of all that I have read. It is beautifully written and presents a unique perspective of exactly what Fara was experiencing under the influence of the BlacK Breath, and how Aragorn might have gone about bringing him back and healing him.

Report this review, #3327, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [3] Reviewer:MithLuin Date:August 12, 2006 6:05 AM
I followed a link to this story from Anke Eissmann's art site, though I am familiar with your interest in Faramir from TORc. This story really is superbly done, and captures the weariness and horror of this time. And it is interesting to get an insight into this first meeting between Faramir and Aragorn. I cannot praise this enough!

Report this review, #3339, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [4] Reviewer:Branwyn Date:August 12, 2006 5:28 PM
Tolkien says that Aragorn had to "walk afar in some dark vale" to retrieve Faramir to the world of the living; this story explores that journey. I like how Raksha describes the dark vale as a place that is supernatural but is also influenced by Faramir's sensations in the real world--the thirst from his fever, the heat and smell of fires. Very nice that it isn't the physical hardship that disturbs him; from years of travelling in the wild, he knows how much and how long he can endure that. He is most frightened because he cannot see the stars, Tolkien's symbol of hope.
The disembodied voices are fittingly eerie--

"'Go back, West-Man,' said a thin sharp voice. 'This is not your road. The Son of Gondor is ours.'"

Sad but true that the appearance of Denethor would be the one thing that could break Faramir's spirit. Even in this other world, Aragorn and Faramir at once recognize each other's worth. The details about their dress are so telling--Faramir is dressed as a simple ranger, which is how he views himself, and Aragorn is wearing the Elendilmir because he must bring the healing powers of the king into this place. Faramir shows a characteristic combination of resilience and humility; I loved him asking, as he is about to keel over, if there is anything he can do to help Aragorn!

Though I do not think that Aragorn was reluctant to become king, it does seem reasonable that he would have doubts about his own abilities. He says in "The Two Towers," after the breaking of the Fellowship, "'All that I have done today has gone amiss.'" The burden of leadership fell to him after Gandalf's death, and he feels he has failed the test. Before he can claim the kingship, he must resolve his own lingering doubts about his fitness to be king (though when the Dead answer his summons, that is one validation of his claim), and this story provides an interesting exploration of that process. I especially like when Aragorn takes Faramir's hand between his two hands "in token of the vows of fealty we would exchange one day." A few of Faramir's men watching from the hallway, showing how loyal they are to their beloved captain, and Beregond hugging Bergil and crying---awww!

In this tale, Aragorn says, "'It was well that I had begun my kingship with the saving of so worthy a Steward.'" How true that is! And thanks so much for sharing this wonderful tale with us.

Report this review, #3342, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [5] Reviewer:Nrink Date:September 28, 2006 11:09 AM
Just read the prologue, and I think it's superbly moving. The quotation couldn't have been better chosen, and the idea of him in the valley of the shadow of death (pardon - my knowledge of the Bible ain't great..) just shatters me!! I'm going to just grab my overdue dinner and come back...

Report this review, #3373, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [6] Reviewer:nrink Date:September 28, 2006 12:14 PM
I think you captured Aragorn the healer very well, and the dialogue from the book joins with your prose seamlessly. There were a couple of things that I really liked about this chapter. One, that Aragorn is lovably human - his incredulous reaction of 'surely I deserve an hour's rest!'
at Gandalf's summons for help made me smile. Two, I found Aragorn being struck by the family resemblance between Denethor and Faramir moving. Can't explain why though! Brain has shut down due to fangirliness. :)

Report this review, #3374, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [7] Reviewer:nrink Date:September 28, 2006 12:14 PM
I think you captured Aragorn the healer very well, and the dialogue from the book joins with your prose seamlessly. There were a couple of things that I really liked about this chapter. One, that Aragorn is lovably human - his incredulous reaction of 'surely I deserve an hour's rest!'
at Gandalf's summons for help made me smile. Two, I found Aragorn being struck by the family resemblance between Denethor and Faramir moving. Can't explain why though! Brain has shut down due to fangirliness. :)

Report this review, #3375, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [8] Reviewer:Rugi Date:September 28, 2006 1:54 PM
I have to say I absolutely love this story. I think it is an almost perfect gapfiller in that even though Tolkien didn't write it, I could completely believe that this was how the events surrounding Faramir's healing/rescue unfolded.

I really like your portrayal of Aragorn. You really grasp his kindness and wisdom. Also interestingly enough, his age. I think it is so important to remember that Faramir and his other patients are much younger than he is - he is protective because he will be their king, their elder, and their guardian.

You really bring home the fact that Aragorn was Denethor's contempory and you show how complicated their relationship must have been - I loved the scene where Aragorn was shocked to see Faramir's resemblance to Denethor - he really is Denethor without the hopeless bitterness.

Favorite quote which I keep going back to:
"Here, in my keeping, was a treasure beyond price: the virtues of the Southern Kingdom embodied in one man: the ancient pride and traditions of Westernesse, the courage at arms and desire for peace, the love of music and lore, the keenness of mind and generosity of heart, passed down from our lost home in Númenor to this last Steward to guard the realm. Gondor and Faramir had suffered, but had never yielded. 'I will save you,' I vowed, to both the realm and the man. 'I will guard you as long as I can. And if the Enemy falls, I promise, I will renew your strength.'"

Report this review, #3376, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [9] Reviewer:nrink Date:September 28, 2006 3:23 PM
Raksha I really love this story!

Gripping from beginning to end, it has an incredible intensity, a mystical Pilgrim's Progress feel to it. The idea of Faramir as ME Everyman is a great addition to the store of HoH fanfics. HoH fiction is often hackneyed or glossed over by many authors (I'm guilty of this too), but this is a genuine breath of fresh air. Definitely one of my favourites. Looking forward to reading more of your work Raksha!

cheers nrink

Report this review, #3377, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [10] Reviewer:Leoni Date:June 21, 2008 12:13 PM
What a lovely story! I am glad Linda told me to come read it! Your description of Aragorn's search for Faramir was amazing. And although I knew the outcome beforehand, I still held my breath in fear for what might happen! Well written indeed!

Report this review, #3939, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz