Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
1 [2]
Blackbow
by:Isabeau
 [11] Reviewer:Altariel Date:October 9, 2009 12:34 PM
YOU DID IT! Hurray! :-D

Report this review, #4145, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [12] Reviewer:illereyn Date:October 10, 2009 12:08 PM
Yay! *dances around madly with joy* Blackbow's finished!

Oh, I love how you tied off the story with how Hethlin got her battle-name - and her status among the Rangers!

I wonder what all the other soldiers thought, when they found that the hero Ranger who can shoot down Mumak was actually a woman?

The daisy was a lovely touch too, and really shows how far the relationship between Faramir and Hethlin has progressed.

Thank you thank you thank you for finishing this story, and if your Muse is open to bribes, here's some virtual cookies to tempt her into more artistic guidance!

Report this review, #4146, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [13] Reviewer:obsidianjg Date:October 10, 2009 11:27 PM
This is a very satisfying end to the story. I had to read the whole thing again because it is a while that I read it.
Hethlin is a daredevil, but at least she didn't run into this mindlessly. Oh, she started to go after the mumak on the spur of the moment, but she came back to her senses in time to realize what a foolish idea it was. She got so lucky, thanks to her ugly horse. That bow sounds like a real treasure. No wonder Hethlin was known for her bow. It seems to be a unique piece.

Report this review, #4147, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [14] Reviewer:Radbooks Date:October 11, 2009 5:36 PM
It was wonderful to be able to read the last part of this story. I loved Hethlin's arguments with Faramir as she presented the reasons why she should be allowed to become a Ranger and then the whole process of the men getting to decide to accept her. It was a big deal for them to have her there and then to 'hide' her in plain sight so to speak. The epilogue was also a treat because I'd never considered getting to see that, although it makes perfect sense considering the name of the story!

Very nicely done and I'm looking forward to whatever you decide to finish or write next! Thanks for sharing your stories with us! :)

Report this review, #4148, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [15] Reviewer:brinian Date:October 13, 2009 8:55 AM
I did as promised and reread the whole thing :-) I really, really like this story! The first couple chapters are more reminiscent of the style of writing of CMC, while the last two have tightened up into the style that I see you writing in now - a more mature, skillful approach that leaves out a lot of the 'how they got there' and puts it into the details of the current story. Did I mention that I really, realy like this story?! As mentioned, it takes the whole story to get to the 'how Hethlin got her Ranger name' explanation, but there isn't any reason not to keep reading. It's a beautifully put together story. In my re-reading I did find the daisy reference so now I'm a happy camper. Just lovely. Thank you for finishing Blackblow! Now on to...well, my vote is for Silver Swan, but I'll take Ultimatums or, well just about anything you want to give us. But no pressure!

Report this review, #4150, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [16] Reviewer:Larner Date:December 15, 2010 8:28 PM
I don't know that I'll have time to finish this before the deadline, but intend to do as I can. Lovely writing, and excellent beginning. Good luck with the MEFA.

Report this review, #4278, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [17] Reviewer:Larner Date:December 16, 2010 9:25 AM
Excellent tale. I admit that I finished reading it after I wrote my MEFA review, but I doubt I could have finished it fast enough to meet the deadline otherwise.

Love the ugly Dunland horse and the acceptance Hethlin earned from all. And chances are she is related to Aragorn--I suspect most of the Northern Dunedain were pretty inbread.

Report this review, #4279, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [18] Reviewer:Arwen Lune Date:April 4, 2011 6:59 PM
Belated realisation... Hethlin had already met Esteven long before she went to Dol Amroth! Now I'm curious how he reacted to her when he first met her as esquire (or when he realised), and if that tale made it out into the open, or at least to Andrahar's ears.
While I'm pitching plotbunnies your way, I keep hoping you'll write a short about that bit referred to in Passages.. when Andra finds out that Heth has Boromir's knife, and the tale of why she has it. Interesting headspin to discover that somebody he loved so much and held in such high esteem, knew about and approved of this person he dislikes so much..

Report this review, #4320, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [19] Reviewer:Susana Date:October 19, 2011 1:38 AM
I very much enjoyed this story. I particularly liked seeing Faramir as a commander in Ithilien with his rangers, and the relationship between he and Boromir. Hethlin is a fascinating OC. The details about the rangers' daily life and routines and the army were very well done, as were the action sequences. Thank you so much for writing and posting this story.

Report this review, #4383, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
1 [2]
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz