Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
[1] 2
The Prisoner of Dol Guldur
by:Soledad
 [1] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:January 20, 2006 8:23 PM
What a gruesome, excellent story. I can well imagine Sauron attempting to replicate Melkor's "accomplishment" with elven captives.

The downside of immortality: getting to live in tormented capitivity for hundreds or thousands of years. I'll take mortality any day!

You seem to have a wide-ranging imagination, and I admire that you don't flinch away from likely but ugly events.


Report this review, #621, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [2] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:January 21, 2006 10:25 PM
Oh, more chapters -- I thought it would just be the first two!

You introduce some ideas that I find very appealing: bespeaking, instead of actually invading someone's mind; the Avari Elves who feel no call to the Sea, and who view themselves as staying faithful to their first and only home. I think I remember that somewhere Tolkien implied at least that this was the case, but it's nice to see that idea fleshed out.

I can completely understand Thranduil's reluctance to have anything to do with Galadriel (although out of curiosity, not being familiar with all of your stories, is their background elaborated by you elsewhere?). And yet I feel a sympathy for Galadriel. And of course for Celeborn, caught between the two.

It's interesting to consider the possibility that the High Elves were as affected by the Valar as those unfortunate elves who became orcs were affeced by Melkor (who, after all, was the most powerful of all the Ainur). So that the Faithful elves, as you have called them, remain the most, I dunno, "natural," or untouched -- true to the original template designed by Eru. If that makes sense. And that might not be at all what you have in mind.

Anyway, great story -- thanks!

Report this review, #625, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [3] Reviewer:Ds Date:February 6, 2006 4:05 PM
It is good to see Enadar on the mend but it will take some time for him to heal. And I am certain that he will get strong again, not to mention that I am sure he will be happy when he meets Legolas.

Report this review, #649, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [4] Reviewer:Jillian Date:February 8, 2006 12:43 PM
This is great. I like how he's coming slowly back to himself. Did he fall in love a little with Arwen when she helped the early stages of his healing? Really, Soledad, this did need several more chapters. I love it!

Report this review, #654, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [5] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:February 13, 2006 3:29 AM
I wish you had a journal in the author's journal section; it would be easier to ask questions, if you're willing to answer them. Interesting take on Arwen's last days.

Report this review, #660, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [6] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:February 17, 2006 3:31 PM
An interesting look at how Legolas was shaped by his familial circumstances & obligations, and how his brother's return might change those circumstances & obligations. I'm glad that you didn't just give Legolas unmitigated joy at the news. I appreciate how your writing gives finely detailed nuances of internal and interpersonal emotions.

It was a bit selfish of Arwen to withhold the news until after the wedding! One of those damned-if-you-do/damned-if-you-don't choices I suppose.

Report this review, #664, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [7] Reviewer:Ds Date:February 17, 2006 6:39 PM
I love this chapter, I get an image in my mind of Legolas looking as though he has been hit on the head with a club. The brother he thought to be dead has returned to him and his father. I am sure he is both happy and sad. It is good to see that Gimli is with him as I am sure Legolas needs his friend. I look forward to the next chapter. *hugs*

Report this review, #665, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [8] Reviewer:Jillian Date:February 20, 2006 2:14 PM
I do like! Perhaps he ought to have an ent-draught, Leggy's brother.

What sorrow for him to find his brother again, only to loose him to the sea!

Report this review, #667, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [9] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:February 20, 2006 2:31 PM
Great chapter w/excellent incorporation of ents!

Are you planning to start an author journal here? It would be a great place to direct questions.

Report this review, #668, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [10] Reviewer:Jillian Date:February 24, 2006 9:25 AM
The Ents, the Ents! See, I knew they'd cure Enadar with ent-draughts!
Good Ents. I really liked this chapter, with them, and with Enadar almost-but-not-quite recognising Legolas.

Report this review, #681, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
[1] 2
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz