Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
[1] 2
Noble Jewel
by:Isabeau
 [1] Reviewer:Soledad Date:July 10, 2004 10:24 AM
Very nicely done, Isabeau!

Report this review, #10, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [2] Reviewer:Melina Date:July 12, 2004 1:56 PM
This is really lovely, Isabeau -- a great story that ties a lot of your universe together. As usual you have a gift with OC's (I mean Brand... funny, I barely think of Andrahar as an OC anymore) that really makes you care about them and want to keep reading their stories.

I was holding somewhat of a grudge against Andra for his harsh treatment of Heth, but I think he's forgiven now. It makes me happy for him that he has something of Boromir to nurture and cherish, and for Faramir and Imrahil, too.

Lovely work, as usual.

Report this review, #19, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [3] Reviewer:Lasse-Lanta Date:July 13, 2004 10:36 AM
Well, I am only half through this tale and once again I am struck by how wonderfully you write. You really have a unique gift of drawing the reader into the world of the characters. I have the same feeling I get when I read Tony Hillerman, I can hardly tear myself away and yet I want to savor the reading because I will be thirsting for more when the tale ends. Excellent, excellent job.

Report this review, #21, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [4] Reviewer:Erin Date:July 13, 2004 1:37 PM
Well heck ... where did my first review go? Hoping this one goes through!

*ahem* I *really* liked this story. Andrahar is definitely a favorite of mine, the hardened warrior who nonetheless knows love and passion, and young Brand here is delightful! Have we met him in any other stories before, or is he a new addition? Any rate, I found this story to be well-crafted, wonderful in its characterisations, and just plain a great surprise. I really didn't guess who Brand's father might be, and upon learning I thought the premise was perfectly executed. Plus I really adore the idea of lonely Andrahar having a lad to tutor and teach - and a very special lad at that. LOL, step-father Andrahar - somehow it's perfect! I hope we'll see more of young Brand, as I think he fills an empty space in Andra's life, and will be a precious bridge between past losses and future hope. Well done, Isabeau! :-)
Cheers ~

Erin

Report this review, #24, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [5] Reviewer:Imrahoil Date:July 14, 2004 4:57 AM
Just had a look at your reviews and am rather glad that I'm not the only one with posting problems.

What a wonderful surprise to have a look at this site and find a brand new story of yours (urgh, is this a pun?), would have liked to write what Melina wrote - about taking Andrahar as canon, but too late. Hope very much to see other stories of yours here as well and with updates, please *knockknock*.

Report this review, #27, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [6] Reviewer:AM Date:July 16, 2004 8:11 PM
Thank you so much. This was wonderful.
As soon as I realized whose son he was I started to cry.
Are you going to continue his story?

Report this review, #29, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [7] Reviewer:Imhiriel Date:July 19, 2004 12:23 PM
Wonderful story, Isabeau. I was so glad for both of them, for finding each other. So glad (and actually grateful to you about it) that Andrahar has something of Boromir he can cherish (And I feel as others have commented, that Andrahar by now has become almost a fully-fledged canon-character). And for Brand for this chance of a new and better life. Really a good and likeable lad with spirit.
The matter-of-factness of both his mother's and the boy's attitude to the circumstances of his birth were admirable.

Liked the interchanges between the different characters, especially the different Swan Knights in relation to Andrahar. The appearance of now familiar names as Liahan and Peloren, the new character of the healer. And that, although the step-father was by no means a likeable man, nevertheless was not simply depicted as the villain of the story.
And how you handled the different social classes and their interchanges.

I'm curious if and how you incorporate him in the second Heth story. As far as I recall, you mentioned that Dol Amroth Yule would be a part of that, and I'm very much looking forward to the further development in this direction.

Report this review, #32, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [8] Reviewer:christiel Date:September 29, 2004 8:55 PM
Lovely story Isabeau. You are one of my favourite authors and I was so pleasantly surprised to find another gem from you. Andra is a wonderful creation of yours and I love the way you have integrated your stories. Thanks again and I will continue to avidly read your site.

Report this review, #127, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [9] Reviewer:Elena Tiriel Date:April 12, 2005 2:57 AM
Oh, Isabeau, I *so* needed this pick-me-up!

What a heartwarming tale and what honorable people... Besides crusty Andrahar, I also really liked the sly healer. Love that happy ending! (and the joke about bastardy made me LOL!)

- Barbara

Report this review, #326, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [10] Reviewer:total fan Date:December 10, 2006 2:50 AM
Awesome! Keep going! I love the characters and plot. This is one of the best Tolkien fanfictions I've read!

Report this review, #3501, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
[1] 2
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz