Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
[1] 2
Back to Middle-earth 2009 ficlets
by:Dwimordene
 [1] Reviewer:Rugi Date:March 3, 2009 11:07 PM
I really loved this story. I like that you took a character who is often portrayed (very successfully) as melencholy and damaged in a way the was realistically light-hearted. It was nice to see Eowyn taking the good parts of her past into her future. For some reason, I never imagined her dancing, but nimble as she is with a sword, it makes sense for her be nimble and coordinated in other ways too.

I also enjoyed the glimpse of Faramir - it's always funny for me to imagine him in Rohan. I can see him enjoying their exuberance (especially as he describes them in the book) but being a bit out of his depth. And any guy willing to learn a dance in public for his fiance's sake is a prize...

Report this review, #4056, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [2] Reviewer:Elena Tiriel Date:March 4, 2009 2:26 AM
Oh, what a delightful vignette!

I love the glimpse of …owyn when she was young, before Saruman's corrupting hand touched Edoras.

And I'm glad that both …omer and Faramir were smart enough to accede to her demands, er, requests. LOL!

So great to see joy restored to her heart once again....

- Barbara

Report this review, #4058, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [3] Reviewer:Rugi Date:March 6, 2009 12:42 AM
This was fun! It's interesting to see a newly-minted Gandalf. I liked the idea that becoming familiar with the world was such a physical experience.

Report this review, #4060, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [4] Reviewer:Rugi Date:March 12, 2009 8:42 PM
What an interesting premise! That alone made this fic a fun read. I also like how you portray the dreadful SAMENESS of fighting. How, in the moment, both sides are feeling the same emotions (fear, anger, hate). At the end of the battle, both sides end up dirty, injured, and dead, no matter who actually wins. The moment between the two was so visceral - I could feel the exhaustion and shame and desperation. It was cool.

Report this review, #4074, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [5] Reviewer:Rugi Date:March 17, 2009 8:49 PM
It was so interesting to see the human condition through elven eyes. You get across the fact that what seems so normal to us, would appear outlandish and alien to another intelligent species.

I like that you allude to the fact that eternal life and eternal youth aren't the unalloyed blessings that mortals might imagine. Tolkien always did a good job of showing the terrible sorrow that would come of being eternal in a "fallen" world.

Report this review, #4079, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [6] Reviewer:Rugi Date:March 20, 2009 11:01 PM
I thought you did a good job touching on one of the few ways that humans (and elves and your readers) would be able able to identify with an orc sympathetically. Physical pain, the drive to live, and fear of death are something we can feel and understand - it was a nice doorway into some kind of compassion and understanding.

Report this review, #4081, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [7] Reviewer:Rugi Date:March 21, 2009 11:48 AM
Loved this chapter. Steward-family stuff is my favorite and I always like how you write them. I liked that you showed how advice can be overwhelming (especially when life is overwhelming in general). I also liked to see Gandalf interacting with Faramir as a child. You manage to define and describe the relationship through just a few thoughts and words - there was warmth and kindness there that was nice to see. And it was cool to see how the advice from each character lined up with their personalities, history, philosophies etc. Very enjoyable.

Report this review, #4082, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [8] Reviewer:Larner Date:March 23, 2009 9:06 AM
Ah, marvelous detail here, Dwim. Excellent feeling for the power of the storm and the dread the sound and feel of it left in Eomer and Bywulf.

Report this review, #4085, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [9] Reviewer:Larner Date:March 24, 2009 6:59 AM
Very proper! Ah, what we will do for friendship!

Report this review, #4086, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [10] Reviewer:Rugi Date:March 24, 2009 8:27 PM
Well! It sounds like we experienced the same tornadoes! I've got to admit that when I heard the tornado bell (or whatever it's called) I was idiotic enough to wonder whether it was an air-raid siren - because THAT makes sense in Chicago.

I liked this story. It's interesting to see the powerful warriors of Rohan at the mercy of something so elemental and pitiless as a storm.

Report this review, #4088, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
[1] 2
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz