Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
[1] 2
Tattoo
by:Isabeau
 [1] Reviewer:brinian Date:August 12, 2008 12:07 AM
I know you said "fluffy", but I think it's a wonderful fragment or snippet that gives us a little more insight into the relationship between the two of them as it unfolded during their younger days. I particularly like the detail of the eggs on a hungover stomach...Andra has such creative ways of punishing Imri. And the bit about remembering the address of the tattoo shop in the morning - perfect Andra. You see that same calculated understanding of how people act in him when he's older but with more seriousness and cynicism. Here, it's more humorous. It's more the kind of thing you'd do to a friend and brother because they were a pest and because you had to mind them even when they were being stupid. Very nice. Thank you!

Report this review, #3971, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [2] Reviewer:Elena Tiriel Date:August 12, 2008 1:22 AM
Aha! so that's why Imrahil got an earring? This is the one he gave to the desert lord's child-wife in Ultimatums, right? Pear-shaped, iirc? I always coveted that pearl.... (There was a program on the Nature series on the Public Broadcasting System about pearls, and there was a huge baroque (translation: weirdly-shaped) pearl that had been incorporated into a truly exquisite sculpture of a horse... round pearls are boring, but I love the baroque ones.... And I'm sure, having such exquisite tastes, not to mention lots of money, that's what Pirate Imrahil would get for his earring....) But I digress.... ;-D

I love the interplay between the long-suffering (for so many reasons...) Andrahar, doggedly protecting the endearingly reckless (while off-duty) Imrahil.

But I especially love the fact that once Imrahil coaxed the reason out of Andra, he complied with his oath-brother's wish. Just like that! Even despite the large breakfast featuring slimy eggs on a seriously hung-over stomach.... LOL!

*Sigh* I just love your guys!

- Barbara

Report this review, #3972, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [3] Reviewer:Elena Tiriel Date:August 12, 2008 1:27 AM
Oh, and I forgot to even mention the stuff about Andrahar promising to remember the address of the tattooist, but most assuredly *not* promising to give it to Imrahil! Serves the bratty swan prince right for taking his friend and protector for granted!

A lovely vignette, Isabeau.... Well done!

- Barbara

Report this review, #3973, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [4] Reviewer:illereyn Date:August 12, 2008 9:57 AM
rofl! So that's how Imrahil got his earring - as the better of worse choices! Love the realtionship dynamic, and the way Imrahil would do anything for someone he loves - include not getting a tattoo! Your characterisation of them both is wonderful, and the humour was nicely timed.

Report this review, #3975, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [5] Reviewer:River Otter Date:August 12, 2008 1:37 PM
I really like this. It's nice to see the relationship between these two men and how it has evolved as they grow older.

Report this review, #3976, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [6] Reviewer:elfscribe Date:August 12, 2008 6:51 PM
Very much enjoyed the dynamic between Imrahil and Andrahar in this story.

Report this review, #3977, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [7] Reviewer:Cecilia Date:August 12, 2008 7:57 PM
I feel as if I am a fly on the wall listening to them. Thanks for sharing it with us.

Report this review, #3978, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [8] Reviewer:Altariel Date:August 14, 2008 3:31 PM
you have me to thank that you did not wake this morning with ‘Wilwarin forever’ tattooed upon your arse

Hah! Oh, I did enjoy this. And I loved that once Andra just explained, Imri dropped the idea.

Report this review, #3983, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [9] Reviewer:Nargil Date:August 23, 2008 11:13 PM
I don't believe it. I go away for two weeks, have the trip back from hell, and here's a chapter!

I love the story though, Andra is quite sweet really in this one and it shows the bond between them both. I love these little glimpses of them together in Imri's wild young days, before responsibility got to them both, theres a before and after switch around Ultimatums bit it's about time Imri grew up by then.

Nargil

Report this review, #3991, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [10] Reviewer:Denise Date:September 10, 2008 10:52 PM
What an awesomely squeeable response to your Nazgul – these two are such an OTP, if a mostly platonic one. So that's how Imrahil's totally hot earring came about. And I still don't know what it is about the darn thing that makes it so alluring, but it strikes me as incredibly sexy. There's a wish on my part: Maybe you can bring it up in Passages sometime!

Once again, these two are completely in character for their current place in the Unabeauverse timeline. I agree with other reader's assessments about Andrahar's sense of humor and Imrahil's rashness. Just perfect, and it is so much fun to watch them interact. The references to their long friendship are all spot-on and add a great deal of depth to this brief glimpse. I admit, I also can't wait to see more of Andra, Imri and Nimrien together, after the relationships resettle following Imrahil and Nimrien's wedding.

Almost as if it belonged to someone else, Andrahar watched his right hand rise. Rise and reach, and trace a soft line down the outside of Imrahil's bare arm.

The vulnerability Andra shows here is utterly touching. Bless Imrahil for his sensitivity. No wonder Andra (and the rest of us) think Fire, but I love this man!

Another favorite line: "A pearl would do nicely. Goes with everything." Yes, that's your Imri, lol.

And, hmmm...: Imrahil, who was ticklish, shivered a little. Wouldn't I love to see that played on somewhere in your stories... I don't have much of a wish list, do I?

Report this review, #3997, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
[1] 2
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz