Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
[1] 2
Journey's End
by:Altariel
 [1] Reviewer:Isabeau Date:June 14, 2007 3:10 AM
Yay! Glad you posted this! I love stories where the royalty go incognito among their folk. As usual, you manage to convey a great deal of background in very few words-I like your mistress of the Seven Stars. Might have to run Heth out that way sometime. Certainly, Mablung probably stops by for some beer every now and again.

Report this review, #3684, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [2] Reviewer:Radbooks Date:June 14, 2007 3:19 PM
Oh, what a lovely little story. I love seeing Aragorn being able to sneak away and enjoy some peaceful times with his people. I'm sure it was very difficult for him to be 'cooped' up all the time in Minas Tirith after his long years as a Ranger. Loved the hostess lady... you made her very real in such a short story.

Report this review, #3685, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [3] Reviewer:obsidianj Date:June 14, 2007 11:24 PM
What a lovely little tale. I think Eilen couldn't do them a better favor than having the two rangers sleep in the barn. I think King and Steward enjoyed their outing a lot.

Report this review, #3686, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [4] Reviewer:Elena Tiriel Date:June 15, 2007 12:08 AM
Hi Altariel,

I really enjoyed reading this story. You certainly packed a lot of interesting characterization and background history into a short story! Very well done!

It took me almost to the end of the story, when the Rangers left, before I realized who they were... you handled the woman's POV really well, yet left us with just enough clues for this (often clueless) reader to figure out what the woman didn't know.

Good story!
- Barbara

Report this review, #3687, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [5] Reviewer:Linda Hoyland Date:June 15, 2007 7:50 AM
I just loved this. I can just imagine this happening for our heroes.

Report this review, #3688, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [6] Reviewer:Greylin Date:June 15, 2007 8:19 PM
Dear Altariel,

I am an avid reader of your stories and have often wanted to let you know how moving I find them, particularly the ones about Faramir, but I can never quite find the words to convey how much I admire your skill, your style and your insight into the human condition.

In this story I wondered what Aragorn might have said to Faramir to make him laugh again, and I like to think it was probably some rude but affectionate anecdote about Boromir.

I'm so glad you still seem to have a rich seam of LOTR stories to mine. Please, never stop. :)

Greylin

Report this review, #3691, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [7] Reviewer:Azalais Date:June 15, 2007 9:39 PM
This is bittersweet and lovely - I do enjoy piecing together"guess-who?" fics. "Rangers" always makes me think Shire/Angle, rather than Gondor, which threw me for a moment, but I caught up eventually...

I did like "that impossible courtesy all his kind managed no matter what the journey had been like" - that's *very* Rangerly - and "soft grey speech", and of *course* the inn is the Seven Stars. And a good twist that Bey is Eilen's second chance at happiness when the first was lost. (Now distracted by wondering whether anyone's written an AU in which Boromir was Eowyn's first love - must have been done, though I don't know how well it would work...)

Now I want to know what Aragorn said to Faramir that made him laugh.

Does either of those two whistle off-key, though? I would have had Faramir down for perfect pitch, and Aragorn quite well able to hold a tune...

Lovely piece, thanks for bunking off whatever you were supposed to be doing!

Report this review, #3693, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [8] Reviewer:shirebound Date:June 16, 2007 2:40 PM
What a wonderful story, Altariel. I enjoyed every bit of it. My thanks to Aragorn_Reader on Livejournal for the link to this tale.

Report this review, #3695, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [9] Reviewer:Amy Date:June 16, 2007 7:54 PM
I really love this story.

Aragorn watching Faramir enjoying himself and occasionally remembering his brother are really special moments.

Not to mention the irresistible Rangers incognito thing and sleeping in the barn!

Report this review, #3696, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [10] Reviewer:Amy Date:June 16, 2007 8:10 PM
Road trip with Rangers--my favorite!

Oh, I love the way that Aragorn lets Faramir plan their trip.

And the moment when Faramir thinks of Boromir, and his restless hands, and needling the king.

All in the guise of incognito Rangers: who can resist!?

Report this review, #3697, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
[1] 2
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz