Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
[1] 2
The Gates
by:Isabeau
 [1] Reviewer:Radbooks Date:February 3, 2007 3:56 PM
Oh, this was a marvelous tale! There aren't many good Gimli stories and this one was a very enjoyable read. I really liked the older dwarf, he'll be very good for Gimli to have around as he moves to the Glittering Caves. Everyone needs someone like that in their lives... older and wiser to help you see things clearly. Thanks for sharing.

Report this review, #3578, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [2] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:February 3, 2007 5:41 PM
What a touching story -- I like how you conveyed the sense of community among the dwarves, and also Gimli's humility about his own talents. And that it took years of committee work to finally decide on the new design of the gates -- echoes of our modern world. Thanks, Isabeau!

Report this review, #3579, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [3] Reviewer:Ds Date:February 3, 2007 7:50 PM
*hugs Isabeau* This is a great fic and I like it a lot, I see the events you describe with my minds eyes and it is a lovely sight indeed.

Report this review, #3580, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [4] Reviewer:Eruwestial Date:February 3, 2007 9:54 PM
This is a lovely story! I love how you show Gimli's abilities to get along with many sorts of people. I have a soft spot in my heart for that Dwarf, and Dwarves in general. I think you did them very well.
Thank you.
Eruwestial

Report this review, #3581, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [5] Reviewer:Eruwestial Date:February 3, 2007 9:54 PM
This is a lovely story! I love how you show Gimli's abilities to get along with many sorts of people. I have a soft spot in my heart for that Dwarf, and Dwarves in general. I think you did them very well.
Thank you.
Eruwestial

Report this review, #3582, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [6] Reviewer:Eruwestial Date:February 3, 2007 9:54 PM
This is a lovely story! I love how you show Gimli's abilities to get along with many sorts of people. I have a soft spot in my heart for that Dwarf, and Dwarves in general. I think you did them very well.
Thank you.
Eruwestial

Report this review, #3583, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [7] Reviewer:Merbrat Date:February 4, 2007 3:20 PM
Elvish mooning. Hee. That was lovely! I liked the way Snorri kept Gimli from the labor to prove his point, instead of giving him a "token" job. Gimli as a diplomat (Lower your ax, Gimli). Minas Tirith as a layer-cake is something I can see. The pointy thing is the knife slicing it. Anyway, I really liked the story!

Report this review, #3584, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [8] Reviewer:obsidianj Date:February 4, 2007 11:07 PM
What a lovely vignette. Snorri is a wise dwarf. Artisans need peace towork their craft. So, Gimli got a lesson that it takes more talents than just forging and hammering to complete a project. I wish in real life people would remember that.

Report this review, #3586, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [9] Reviewer:Raksha the Demon Date:February 5, 2007 1:36 AM
Excellent vignette, with a graceful look into both dwarven culture and Fourth Age dwarven relations with other peoples. Snorri and Gimli are written very well.

Report this review, #3588, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [10] Reviewer:Nargil Date:February 6, 2007 10:56 PM
What a lovely little snippet, I like the way you right Gimli and the dwarves in general, you give all the races such well difined traits that it makes the way they interact very realistic.

I agree with what was said earlier about good Gimli stories, and this is deffinatley one of them, I also like the glimpse into the Gondorian arcitectual system, and also the notion that not all dwarves are skilled smiths.

Report this review, #3590, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
[1] 2
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz