Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
1 2 [3] 4
The Young Knights
by:Soledad
 [21] Reviewer:Denise Date:December 10, 2006 7:07 AM
Ch. 8: Brrr... That has to be one of the most graphic descriptions of the wave dream that I think I've read. The special connection between Faramir and Boromir was lovely. Their whole discussion about the palantir was extremely interesting - and chilling, when Boromir described the vision of his death. I was a bit startled that Boromir came right out and told his little 13-year-old brother about something as sensitive as the palantir... but then decided they do have a deep and extremely close relationship, and he knew he could trust Faramir's discretion.

Ch. 9: Oh, this was GREAT. Faramir's adoration of Boromir was again played out wonderfully, in his thoughts of how big brother protected him, and how Faramir trusts absolutely in Boromir's judgement of people. The background of how illegitimacy is treated in different cultures was very interesting, as was the internal politics within Forlong's household - I can't wait to get more on that. And I loved Erkenbrand's daughter; I hope you give us lots more on Lady Aud-of-the-deep-eyes and your vision of Rohan's shieldmaiden culture.

Report this review, #3502, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [22] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 10, 2006 11:46 AM
So sad to see these two young men together, and their friendship, when we know they won't become old men.

Report this review, #3505, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [23] Reviewer:Denise Date:December 12, 2006 7:51 AM
Ch. 10 & 11: What a bittersweet pair of chapters... Lost love, strong women, wonderful friendships, nasty female conniving and power plays. The closeness you showed between Boromir and Theodred, and Herumor and Madenn, was lovely and beautifully portrayed. I feel terrible for Theo, Madenn and Aud; and very glad that some of Herumor's ideas for Madenn were unconvincing.

If we can't guess Madenn's "canon" identity, will you give us more hints?

Report this review, #3507, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [24] Reviewer:Denise Date:December 13, 2006 6:54 PM
Ch 12: The discussions about the Old Folk customs and the King of the Fair were wonderful, rich and interesting. Had a good laugh about the "fancy hat" - fashions, ugh! - and Hurin meeting his potential grandmother-in-law.

Ch 13: I hope you do get to finish the minstrel's ballad one day. Your description of the man and his retinue were so vivid that I wondered if he plays a part in other stories of yours?

Although Hurin's proposal to Achren seemed rather dry and practical on the surface, for some reason I still thought of the whole scene as being sweetly romantic. Perhaps because Hurin was so honest about the situation in his home, or because of his declaration of faithfulness and offer of himself, unreservedly. At any rate, I'm really rooting for the two of them to get together!

Report this review, #3509, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [25] Reviewer:Rugi Date:December 14, 2006 6:37 PM
Hurin really went in for the brutal honesty right off didn't he? I liked that in him and it makes sense - he would want to marry someone who was naive about their future life. And I hope he gets the girl anyway.

I liked that Faramir was able to listen to the minstrels - you really show the many different non-martial aspects of Faramir's personality in this story (visions, scholarship, music) and that's fun.

Report this review, #3510, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [26] Reviewer:Rugi Date:December 20, 2006 3:17 AM
The description of the tournament was so vivid and so much fun! I really like how you used the individual fights to expand on the personalities of the characters - you didn't only write a series of action sequences.

Report this review, #3514, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [27] Reviewer:Denise Date:December 25, 2006 8:42 AM
Wonderful continuation, Soledad. The description of Lord Orchaldor's arrival and history was just splendid; a magnificent family, and I got sad and pensive about their future all over again, even as I enjoyed the father-son reunion.

Loved the conversation between Madenn and Achren. A deep sisterly bond, and they need the support each can offer so badly; I'm glad that Madenn's birth circumstances and Forlong's favoritism have not come between them (or, are no longer doing so). The eavesdropping by Lady A's maid reminded me of how ubiquitous and unnoticed that servants were around nobility. I mean, if someone else had been hiding in the room with me, I think I would still have hairs standing up on the back of my neck, but the girls don't even notice. It will be interesting to see if/how Evil Lady A uses this information.

The exchange between Hurin and Morwen was totally precious. I love all your characterizations, but the relationship between these two is really delightful.

I cheered when Herumor received Starfall. What happened to it when he died?

The entirety of Herumor's knighting and the tournament (well, I'm on Ch. 19) are infused with your trademark glorious details. I never have any trouble picturing the layout or the look of things in your stories. Just wonderful! Great descriptions of the action sequences, and I am loving the foreshadowing of Faramir's future golden-haired Shieldmaiden fixation. *g*

Report this review, #3518, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [28] Reviewer:Denise Date:December 27, 2006 8:40 PM
Fascinating look at the melee, although I'm with the ladies: I'm not sure I could take watching one. "Poor" pursued Herumor! *eg* Being an incurable romantic at heart, I really liked how you handled his reaction to the aftermath and the revelation of what he truly desired (which also made his own eventual betrothal in LYiH even more bittersweet in my mind). Madenn is a gem of a cousin - a great mixture of teasing and understanding.

Another marvelous touch was the dignity and worth you gave the common foot-soldier's skill with the "less-noble" battle axe. I also loved, here and in LYiH, how you have Orchaldor find dignified work for disabled veterans.

Oof. What a confrontation over Achren's potential marriage (and what a delightful contrast in the next chapter between Morwen and Achren)! I'm beginning to think that Achren can ably handle even Denethor, at this point. I recognize that she does not love Hurin, and her consideration of marrying him in part to benefit Morwen is reasonable. However, I do hope that it becomes a marriage of true love eventually. (Have I mentioned that I'm an incurable romantic at heart?) Morwen's description of her father smiling so much around Achren was a lovely touch.

And the other Major Confrontation between The Women Who Love Theodred: you handled it very deftly, poignant but not overly sentimental, and made me love those two OFC's even more. Instead, they bowed formally and parted ways, for a long time to come. OK, can we hope to see that future meeting of ways at some point??

Finally, I had to laugh at the differences in how Hurin and Madenn perceived Achren's ability to run a household. Fortunately, Achren only has to worry about Hurin's opinion!

Report this review, #3522, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [29] Reviewer:Dís Date:December 27, 2006 9:03 PM
The tournaments are well described and it is great to see the fights with my minds eyes. The young knights of Gondor as well as the common folk love their country and are prepaired to fight for her.

Achren finds herself in the middle of plots hatched by two women and makes it clear she doesn´t like it at all. I am sure she considers the marriage with lord Hurin as an escape from their meddlings with her life and I am sure she will be loved by lord Hurin´s family.

Report this review, #3523, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [30] Reviewer:Dís Date:December 27, 2006 9:25 PM
As I foresaw lord Hurin doesn´t know what to say. Both Morwen and Achren look as if they are close to laughter and I am sure the Ladies would like to know what is going on. Their ears must be straining by now. I wonder what will happen next.

Report this review, #3524, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
1 2 [3] 4
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz