Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
1 [2] 3 4
The Young Knights
by:Soledad
 [11] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 7, 2006 11:17 AM
Lovely to see the two brothers together, and I very much liked the insight that this was a gift from Denethor for them to enjoy the very last of their childhood. Excellent description of place and of people as ever.

Report this review, #3489, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [12] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 7, 2006 12:07 PM
Wonderful portrait of Forlong - I'm delighted to think of him being portrayed by Brian Blessed!

Report this review, #3490, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [13] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 7, 2006 12:25 PM
Boromir knows exactly the way to Faramir's heart :-) This was my favourite bit, of course, but the interactions between all the children were beautifully done.

Report this review, #3491, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [14] Reviewer:Denise Date:December 7, 2006 10:44 PM
Ch. 7: Lady Khorsheed's legend was very cool; I remain in awe of how deep and well-grounded your backgrounds are, even to the most minute of trivia. More lovely descriptions, especially of young Herumor. *g* Although my appreciation is tinged with sadness... Faramir unconsciously blurting out that rather rude question was very funny, and certainly made me wonder, too.

Report this review, #3492, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [15] Reviewer:Radbooks Date:December 8, 2006 2:22 AM
I'm certainly enjoying this advent 'gift' you are giving us, it is a very enjoyable story. I was right there with Faramir... who wants to look at toys when you could look at books? Even at 13 I would have done that. I guess that's why I'm a librarian. :) Thanks so much.

Report this review, #3493, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [16] Reviewer:Rugi Date:December 8, 2006 7:45 PM
I think I agree with you on Faramir's visions/dreams - I have often thought that, since Aragorn has forsight from his ancestry, distaff royal cousins like the Stewards would probably get it from there too. Or maybe Faramir and Boromir get it from both sides of the family - the Dol Amroth relatives and the Steward line.

I loved the way you portrayed Faramir's intellectual joy in the books - it was so in character for him to wait up half the night reading and then inadvertantly further ruin his sleep with a terrifying dream.
Your description of Faramir's Numenorean dream was really immediate and frightening. It meant that I was releaved along with Faramir to "hear" Boromir - I like the idea of a mysterious bond between them it is a nice and believable addition to their relationship. It was also interesting that Boromir and Faramir now know about the palantir - I like the Boromir is unconcerned while Faramir, more inclined to think form every angle, would be worried by Denethor's use of it.

Report this review, #3494, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [17] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 9, 2006 2:28 PM
Poor Faramir, putting his foot in his mouth with that question. I like the sound of Lady Korsheed.

Report this review, #3495, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [18] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 9, 2006 2:47 PM
Ooh... I often wondered whether or not Denethor told anyone else about the palantir.

Report this review, #3496, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [19] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 9, 2006 2:55 PM
I'm looking forward to reading how Aud does at the tournament.

Report this review, #3497, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [20] Reviewer:Rugi Date:December 9, 2006 7:45 PM
Heh. I liked the little surprise for Boromir at the end. And interesting that Faramir's first encounter with a shieldmaiden occurs when he's so young.

I also like all the politics of legitimacy and illegitimacy and internal family disterbances you throw in so casually and smoothly - it really shows how private behavior has political consequences when you're living in a true aristocracy.

Report this review, #3498, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
1 [2] 3 4
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz