Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
[1] 2 3 4
The Young Knights
by:Soledad
 [1] Reviewer:radbooks Date:December 2, 2006 7:40 AM
Oh, a wonderful start to this story and I'm anxious for the next chapter. I enjoyed learning about each of the lords through the shields that they bore... that was clever. I decided to wait and read this story first since you said it would be first in the sequence and I really like to read things in order.

I did have one other comment. Morwen would be Faramir's cousin, actually a second cousin, I think. Boromir's children would be his nieces and nephews. She would be Denethor's great niece, I believe since she is the granddaughter of his sister.

Report this review, #3470, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [2] Reviewer:Nargil Date:December 2, 2006 1:24 PM
I like it Soledad, sounds good, cant wait for the next chapter, I liked the key to all the helraldry at the end. Your stories always have such a wonderful depth of re-search to them.

Report this review, #3471, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [3] Reviewer:Denise Date:December 3, 2006 5:51 AM
This is a great start to the story, Soledad! I laughed at the interaction between Faramir and Morwen, and at Boromir's "dire" predictions about Faramir's stay in Dol Amroth. The shield-guessing game was apt and a smart way to give us glimpses of the arriving lords.

Lovely discussion between Faramir and Adrahil. I love the "old Prince," and it was such a treat to get his perspective in Ch. 2. Adrahil's emphasis on Denethor's love of Finduilas and his younger son was especially touching.

Report this review, #3472, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [4] Reviewer:Ds Date:December 3, 2006 5:57 PM
I have read this fic on ff.net but for some reason I couldnt leave any reviews there so I do it here instead. I have read chapter one to three and I love them. Thank you for sharing this fic with us.

Report this review, #3474, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [5] Reviewer:Denise Date:December 5, 2006 7:43 PM
Ch. 3: Lovely exchange between Boromir and Denethor. I don't think your interpretation of the familial relationships is far away from mine, actually. Nice setting up of "issues" that Denethor has with Faramir.

Ch. 4: Your description of Carvossonn was amazing. I took up your suggestion to Google Carcassonne, and... "Wow" is all I can say. What an astonishing place. An excellent reminder of the skills and abilities possessed in Medieval times. As always, I love your tributes to the Old Folk.

Ch. 5: Marvelous descriptions of Forlong and his family, although now I'm curious about his first wife. :) I definitely agree with your noted appreciation of Forlong. I loved the possibility of romance for Hurin. And hooray! for Liahan's chance to see the Fair! His overwhelming love for the old Prince was very touching.

Report this review, #3480, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [6] Reviewer:Rugi Date:December 6, 2006 7:21 PM
You write such a vivid discription of the fair and the culture in the town. And I'm so glad that Faramir not only got all of his beautiful books but also got them from his brother. It really showed the affection between them and Boromir's attitude towards his little brother. And I loved how pleased Faramir was with them - I can imagine him going off into a book-trance for the rest of the trip.

I also like that Faramir is looking forward to showing the books to Denethor - respect for learning is certainly something the two seem to share.

Report this review, #3483, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [7] Reviewer:Denise Date:December 6, 2006 8:46 PM
Ch. 6: I was mesmerized by the fair description, and loved Faramir's instant absorption in the books - and that Boromir bought them for him. That's a wonderful big brother, right there. I also loved Faramir's quick and somewhat manipulative calculations: "I can give these to Dad but he'll probably let me keep some of them anyway, and maybe I can get grandfather to have a chest made..." LoL!

Am I right in thinking that Lindir is the Lindir from many of your other stories? Who is Lady Hareth? (Or, which story answers that question? *g*)

Report this review, #3484, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [8] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 7, 2006 10:43 AM
Delightful. I liked Faramir, giving in to the urge to show off his knowledge. That's my boy. And this was a great insight into Denethor: It did not happen every day that the Steward would speak so highly of any Gondorian nobleman. Not even the ones he was related to.

Report this review, #3486, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [9] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 7, 2006 10:50 AM
Wonderful relationship between Adrahil and Faramir. I'm really enjoying this :-)

Report this review, #3487, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [10] Reviewer:Altariel Date:December 7, 2006 10:56 AM
Lovely to see these interactions between father and son.

They both knew there was no power in Middle-earth or beyond that could make his loyalty towards his father waver. The only difference being that he was certain that the same would apply to Faramir, while his father, apparently, had his doubts in that area.

Poor Denethor - he's right, and it's incredibly sad.

Report this review, #3488, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
[1] 2 3 4
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz