Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7
Isabeau's Drabbles
by:Isabeau
 [51] Reviewer:Larner Date:August 9, 2010 5:18 AM
A most reasonable temporary truce, and LOVE the final line!

Report this review, #4219, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [52] Reviewer:Larner Date:August 10, 2010 3:59 AM
Don't we love the inventiveness of our children? Chuckling over this one!

Report this review, #4220, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [53] Reviewer:Larner Date:September 19, 2010 3:42 AM
At least she is decisive here!

Report this review, #4234, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [54] Reviewer:Gwidhiel Date:March 6, 2011 3:55 PM
Sigh, poor Elrohir! But I do love to read things from his perspective.

Report this review, #4300, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [55] Reviewer:Nargil Date:January 10, 2013 4:29 PM
Go Elphir, I often wondered if Gondor used assasins but then if the Haradrim do better fight fire with fire! Much as I've enjoyed the Dragon Age stuff (and I've now read all three Dragon age books so I actually sort of know what your talking about) I'm glad to see the Tolkien musses are back.

Nargil

Report this review, #4428, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [56] Reviewer:Elena Tiriel Date:January 11, 2013 6:22 AM
Ooooh! Intrigue, with a capital "I"! How exciting! And so satisfying.... I definitely like your Elphir even more now than before....

You know, Isabeau, I haven't re-read any of your stories for months -- yet, every time you post any new snippet, I find myself eagerly immersed in your characters' universe again. That takes real talent!

*bows*

And, to paraphrase Oliver Twist: Please, Isabeau, can I have some more?

*vbg*

- Barbara

Report this review, #4429, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [57] Reviewer:Denise Date:January 11, 2013 2:32 PM
This is the definition of serendipity: I literally haven't been by TFF in months, and when I happen to visit there is a new Isabeau work...
Ah, I too now like your Elphir even more than I did before (and he's held a special spot for me ever since he dared to hug Andrahar in "Last Rites"). I imagine it was a disturbing conversation to hold with him, but complex characters are ever so satisfying... Wonderfully written, as always.

Report this review, #4430, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [58] Reviewer:Drenagon Date:January 12, 2013 12:37 PM
Wow. I have been missing CMC-verse a lot recently and this was an interesting story to get to end the withdrawal symptoms. It made sense when I thought about it. Imrahil's spymaster would know how to get these things done, and Brand's cousin wouldn't want to allow him to go unavenged. I like the idea of Amrothos, who is normally the cynic, being considered an innocent in this and the reasons why the rest of the family are kept unaware. Elphir is going to be a unique Prince when he takes over I think!

Report this review, #4431, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [59] Reviewer:Denise Date:January 13, 2013 12:58 PM
This story was playing over in my mind last night, and I realized that my favorite part might be Elphir's clear-eyed (if, IMHO, not entirely accurate) view of himself as the "lesser son of a greater father". I don't think he's right - not that Imrahil is not great, you know my opinions on THAT score. However, I think Imrahil's current reputation is rather fostered by his flamboyance and past history. People take less notice of the quietly "competent" Greats that do their jobs well all along.

Still, that Elphir takes this view, shapes it, and owns it - and remains who he is vs. resenting the perceptions... Well, those few sentences speak volumes to me. Perhaps one day we might even see him as ruler of Dol Amroth? And does Mariel have any clue of his secret side?

Report this review, #4434, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [60] Reviewer:Dwim Date:January 15, 2013 7:53 PM
Oh man. I'm sitting here going through stuff on Brennan and the asssassination policy that our executive branch has adopted and which other branches have signally failed to challenge in any significant way, and reading this, it's a weird, disturbing loop between fiction and reality. Elphir of course is acting out of personal motive, premised on his sense that death should come to people in a manner that accords with their conduct - things notably absent in the current geopolitical context. I can imagine Elphir considering his options and deciding Tufayl does not deserve the honor of a sword or even a dagger, only a rope, amd since he can't manage a public hanging, he'll settle for a private garroting. Chilling. One wonders who else, if anyone, hears about this.

Report this review, #4436, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz