Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7
Isabeau's Drabbles
by:Isabeau
 [11] Reviewer:Imhiriel Date:April 2, 2007 2:01 PM
Certain circumstances in the Citadel

I loved the interplay between Andrahar and the guards. In fact, I liked it very much how you interwove a little humour in places throughout the vignette. This setting in time is sad and grim enough, and Denethor's mood threatening to be so contagious, that it is refreshing to see that not all men have given up hope.

"There is nothing more you or I can do for Faramir now, my lord prince, save to try to keep his City for him, so that he has a place to heal, if heal he can." This, I find, is an intriguing passage. It almost sounds as if Gandalf already knows that Denethor will not be with them much longer - eiter because he dies, or even, perhaps, because he has lost his mind and so lost his capability and his right to lead the city.

Oooh, that last interchange between Imrahil and Gandalf was priceless: the hints about Aragorn, the reminder that Imrahil knew who he was from Kin-Strife; the fact that Andra doesn't; to see that Gandalf doesn't quite know how to react; the staring contest...

Report this review, #3622, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)

 [12] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:April 2, 2007 6:30 PM
From, "To the Crossroads" -- bareback or saddle? Ha ha! Very very good -- as others have already said, it's Classic Imrahil (who for me is absolutely defined by Isabeau)

Certain Circumstances, also just right ... you always wonder what kind of converation Gandalf and Imrahil must have had (I always wondered, anyway) and this very neatly fits the bill.

As always, my hat's off to you, Isabeau!

Report this review, #3623, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [13] Reviewer:Denise Date:July 3, 2007 3:17 PM
Celeborn's Trees: I loved this brief moment from their partnership: Galadriel's fury on Celeborn's behalf, his patience, his lovely comment at the end. And your descriptions, of course: "tall silver sapling" and "deep, quiet voice." Just beautiful - that lucky Galadriel!

The mention of trees did make me think of another beautiful union: Imri/Nimrien, and "From Little Acorns." Do you think you will post that here someday also? And "Second Place" - that was another wonderful piece, just perfectly capturing your Boromir-Faramir-Imrahil relationship.

Report this review, #3724, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [14] Reviewer:Soledad Date:July 22, 2007 7:29 AM
*snorts*
Animal with teeth indeed! You're truly ilarious.

Report this review, #3745, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [15] Reviewer:Dwim Date:January 6, 2008 4:49 AM
Well, I meant to review this recently and got cut off by the MEFA timer. D'oh!

I really enjoyed seeing the Eagles in their own element. Radagast, who never gets many fics, made an excellent outside observer through whom to see the eagle family dynamics.

Young Landroval as an eager, shrieky, impatient, forgetful-of-manners puppy-eaglet, was fantastic. I have to suspect his father might have been much like him at one point, given his amused indulgence. Gwaenaur, of course, is anything but amused - now we know where Gwaihir gets his dignity from!

The two eaglets' first flight perfectly reflects their personalities: true to form, Landroval launches himself headfirst on excitement more than skill or forethought, and his initial plummet followed by awkward flapping was highly amusing. Gwaihir's perfect poise in the air shows him to be, indeed, the lord of the wind.

I really enjoyed rereading this little ficlet. Great fun - hopefully it will inspire something more in the future!

Report this review, #3839, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [16] Reviewer:Altariel Date:May 26, 2008 10:54 AM
Squeeeee!

Report this review, #3924, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [17] Reviewer:Altariel Date:May 26, 2008 10:54 AM
Squeeeee!

Report this review, #3925, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [18] Reviewer:Dwim Date:May 26, 2008 5:51 PM
Thank you for my tribble, Isabeau!

Gosh, there's a whole tradition starting: Altariel has allowed both brothers to live, and now you have, too. (Hm. I seem to be breaking pattern: I've managed to kill both of them, and to rearrange who lives and dies. Oops.)

I would love to see a little more of this scenario, to learn exactly what happened, such that Boromir survived Pelennor. Did he go north, did he stay home, was he ever a victim of the Ring in this scenario (or did Elf boy buy it in his stead - kidding, kidding!)?

Report this review, #3926, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [19] Reviewer:Nargil Date:May 26, 2008 6:38 PM
That was wonderful, a perfect moment caught in time, you capture them both effortlessly,

Nargil

Report this review, #3927, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [20] Reviewer:Nargil Date:June 1, 2008 10:28 PM
That was wonderfull I won't cpomplain if you make a seris of these, especially not if you get Brand, Andra and Boromir together again, or you could just give in and do that au you mentioned

Nargil

Report this review, #3929, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz