Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
1 [2]
Fourth Age
by:Isabeau
 [11] Reviewer:Gwidhiel Date:April 2, 2011 1:39 PM
It's nice to see this story progress! I'm grateful that the narration switched after the first chapter away from Tel's 1st-person perspective, because his sneering had me cringing over and over. I'm sure he'll emerge from this journey a different person than the spoiled, unworthy brat who set out.

I'm surprised that Eldarion's son doesn't reside in Annúminas, overseeing things in the north on his father's behalf. It might have alleviated some of the difficulties that Elfstan was speculating about in chapter 3. I'll be interested in seeing more of the north as the story continues.

Report this review, #4317, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [12] Reviewer:Denise Date:April 16, 2011 7:13 PM
Ch. 1: It is so enjoyable to revisit this story! Part of me grieves that Heth seems so alone in many ways, but another part grins fiendishly at her formidable warrior ways. How excellent that her skills - in no small part Andrahar's skills - are re-recognized. Love the bit parts played by her in-laws and descendants, and the deft way that the King of Gondor sets it up for the gathered fighters to recognize just who is in their midst - and especially for Tell to see. And he finally gets a great workout for himself to boot! Just the kind of win-win solution I'd expect from Aragorn and Arwen's son. :)

Report this review, #4326, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [13] Reviewer:Denise Date:April 17, 2011 5:39 AM
Ch. 2: From Gondor to the Tower Hills - I'd like to see that journey told, if your muses ever speak about it.

Heth's partly-hidden pain at Elrohir's departure is eloquently done. I hope you write that scene one day, too, of their last meeting. I know it would be too revealing at this point, but whether they parted friends or lovers it must have been desperately hard. And with regard to Celeborn, too, present since before the rising of the sun and moon; and the whole idea of the Elves fading and leaving - Heth has a particular sensitivity to it and it comes out well-contrasted to the "whatever" view that Tel represents, which I'd guess is probably the view of most Gondorians.

Tel's memories of Elrohir and Elladan are, I must say, exactly to be expected, of course. *g*

I love the interaction between Heth and Tel. This is shaping into a great continuation! Wise King and Heir: Tel will get much more out of being with Heth than on the Harad border.

Report this review, #4327, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [14] Reviewer:Denise Date:April 17, 2011 11:28 AM
Ch. 3: What a deeply satisfying interlude. Elfstan is a terrific character; now there's yet another "bit player" that I hope we see more of in the Unabeauverse! I've always enjoyed Heth's interactions with hobbits, far beyond their similar hearty appetites. :)

Elfstan has wise advice, and I confess he's put me in a better frame of mind about Tel, with the discussion of Tel's potential personal issues and the reminders about Imrahil's early life.

Arwen's struggles after Aragorn's death have always bothered me, too, although all of us approach grief differently. (Sometimes even with romantic, bardic ridiculousness, Heth!) But I'm convinced Arwen overall had to be a powerful, strong individual. I'm wondering now if many people begging her to stay might not have contributed to the struggle by creating a divided heart. I'll have to think more about that at some point.

This is just a truly lovely answer to the prompt that inspired it. I'm so glad that Heth has such devoted friends looking out for her. More than one way to serve the kingdom, indeed.

Report this review, #4328, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [15] Reviewer:Denise Date:April 17, 2011 11:46 AM
Ch. 4: Hee - I'm getting more Imrahil flashbacks. Love Baraiel; wouldn't expect a Northern relation of Heth's to be any less tough. Even if she does find someone with a star before Tel (presumably) earns his, the very process of striving will alter his life for the better.

I love the image of the heirs coming North to earn their Ranger stars in order to prove themselves worthy of ruling the combined kingdoms.

Report this review, #4329, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [16] Reviewer:Denise Date:April 17, 2011 12:01 PM
Ch. 4: Oh, my, I hope there's more to come in this series...

This bit is just wonderful, from Heth's insistence on Tel's contribution to the food supply and willingness to walk away (if a bluff, a very convincing one), to Tel's comeuppance and belated realizations (snares, Heth's patient teaching). I love the connection they make at the end - hopefully Heth is growing more confident that he is indeed salvageable.

Report this review, #4330, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [17] Reviewer:Glory Bee Date:February 7, 2012 4:22 AM
Hi Isabeau,

I am thrilled that I found some of your Hethlin stories on this site tonight. She is the most memorable OC I have found and I absolutely love all her stories. I am wondering if I have missed something though as I have no idea how she is Tel's ancestor. Last I read she had been in a relationship with Elrohir and Imrahil was in love with her and had proposed marriage. I would love to know what stories I might be missing and I hope you continue writing about her. I have been so blessed by your gift of writing. :)

Blessings, DEB

Report this review, #4402, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [18] Reviewer:Glory Bee Date:February 7, 2012 4:22 AM
Hi Isabeau,

I am thrilled that I found some of your Hethlin stories on this site tonight. She is the most memorable OC I have found and I absolutely love all her stories. I am wondering if I have missed something though as I have no idea how she is Tel's ancestor. Last I read she had been in a relationship with Elrohir and Imrahil was in love with her and had proposed marriage. I would love to know what stories I might be missing and I hope you continue writing about her. I have been so blessed by your gift of writing. :)

Blessings, DEB

Report this review, #4403, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
1 [2]
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz