Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
1 2 3 [4] 5
Brothers at Heart
by:Radbooks
 [31] Reviewer:Amy Date:August 23, 2006 11:34 PM
I really enjoyed Aragorn's and Halbarad's talk with their grandmother. She's mostly bark with a gentle bite like a good dog playing with children.

And I love how Aragorn treats the young ones.

Go get those horrible orcs, now, guys!

Can hardly believe this story is winding up. But I guess that leaves time for another story, eh?

Report this review, #3346, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [32] Reviewer:Estelcontar Date:August 24, 2006 2:50 AM
Your story gets better with every coming chapter. What I really like most about though, is that you managed to make Aragorn grow and mature under our eyes.

The Aragorn we read about in this chapter is well on the way of being the most able leader we read about in the books.

Estelcontar

Report this review, #3347, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [33] Reviewer: Date:September 6, 2006 10:43 PM
Another great chapter! I hope they get the orcs!! Can't wait for you to update again! Hope it's soon!! hehe

Report this review, #3355, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [34] Reviewer:Imhiriel Date:September 24, 2006 2:09 AM
Chapter 1:
Your portrayal of Aragorn at this point in his life is very believable. He is still on the cusp between adolescence and manhood; he is nervous and unsure about his lineage and how living with his people will be, but at the same time, he is intelligent and strong-willed enough. His abilities at leading people firmly but kindly shine through.

Report this review, #3362, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [35] Reviewer:Imhiriel Date:September 24, 2006 10:03 PM
When he went out with his brothers to hunt for orcs, he always was able to return to a safe and well-protected home. The Dúnedain left their loved ones behind in danger to go and seek out orcs and to protect the peoples of Eriador from evil.

That realisation must have have been one of harsh truths Aragorn now has to learn. To think that he will never have a truly safe haven again until Sauron is vanquished nearly seven decades into the future...

I have to say I find it highly dangerous (and a little improbable) to practise a) with live steel and b) without any protection and/or padding. And in the centre of the village, to boot. What if animals or little children should stray near? And isn't such a central place, with the well and the smithy nearby, usually a gathering place for a village (and you do have little children playing there later on in the chapter)?

Aragorn's speech about Elrond and Arathorn at the feast was wonderful. He was diplomatic, but he didn't back down. You have captured his feelings and those of the villagers really well, I thought.

Report this review, #3366, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [36] Reviewer:Imhiriel Date:September 24, 2006 10:04 PM
Chapter 7:
This chapter shows very well the hardships the Rangers had to endure while protecting the whole of Eriador, unnoticed, unappreciated and unthanked. To think that all the while they were patrolling they risked leaving their own families in danger!
While I personally tend to think that for that very reason, Dúnedain settlements would be less small and scattered, there are also good reasons for spreading out a bit: so as to have more home bases from which to cover more territory, for example. I think this and the preceding chapter actually shows well the advantages and drawbacks of the system you posit.

Report this review, #3367, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [37] Reviewer:Imhiriel Date:September 25, 2006 5:02 PM
Chapter 14:
I find Aragorn's uncertainty in dealing with the girls (and also later with Rían) depicted very well. It's amusing and endearing and quite understandable considering the fact that he isn't used to them and also his love for Arwen which would make "normal" relations even more awkward.

The scene of the exchanging of the gifts is wonderful: you evoke a genuine feeling of family, peace and warmth and "togetherness", that is very moving.

To your question re: original characters: Yes, I would appreciate a character list. Maybe as a separate chapter at the end (or at the beginning) so you won't have to repeat it? Or by telling people at the beginning of the story of the character list in ch.18?

Report this review, #3368, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [38] Reviewer:Imhiriel Date:September 25, 2006 5:04 PM
Chapter 17:
Wow! Action-packed and gripping! I was on the edge of my seat while reading. You had a good balance between sketching details and not overburden the scene with technical details, and I never lost the overview of what-happened-when-where.

Report this review, #3369, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [39] Reviewer:Imhiriel Date:September 25, 2006 5:05 PM
Chapter 19:
I had been wondering about the passage in ch. 12 where Aragorn is doubting whether he will be king one day. Considering that it is his only chance for a life with Arwen and also bearing in mind Elrond's prophecy even before the betrothal. I have always seen him as the one to hold to Hope (pun intended *g*) against many odds.
I'm glad now that, here, you take up this thread up once more and show how Aragorn has developed since the beginning of the story, gaining a measure of experience and confidence.
---
Chapter 20:
I admire your decision to not pull any punches regarding Will's judgement. It must have been difficult, building up some little measure of understanding, and the expectation that some other punishment might be possible, especially as there might have been the temptation to let Will go free before entering Bree, only to take the road that would have been logical in such a society.
Your portrayal of the Bree-landers and their reaction towards Rangers was very believable. I wonder if Bill is a predecessor of Bill Ferny...
---
Chapter 21:
A very thought-provoking chapter. I like it that you present the questions, and give possible answers, but show that it is not easy, and should not be easy, as Nestad rightly says.

Report this review, #3370, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [40] Reviewer:Amy Date:October 5, 2006 10:00 AM
Quite exciting!

I know that you've said that there are only a few more chapters, and I'm eager to find out how the orc situation will be resolved.

Rangers taking swimming lessons!

Report this review, #3390, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
1 2 3 [4] 5
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz