Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
1 2 [3] 4 5
Brothers at Heart
by:Radbooks
 [21] Reviewer:obsidianj Date:June 3, 2006 7:50 PM
Whew! That was close. Luckily help arrived when it did. Is it a good idea if they all go to Bree? Aragorn's group is pretty banged up and would need some rest and time for healing. I don't think dealing with bandits is beneficial for their health.

Report this review, #3283, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [22] Reviewer:Amy Date:June 22, 2006 12:21 AM
Interesting moral dilemma. Is there a wise Solomon in Bree? Or even someone attuned to the fine points of justice and willing/able to apply them to the young man?

Hmmm . . .

Report this review, #3292, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [23] Reviewer:Estelcontar Date:June 22, 2006 7:40 PM
That was a great chapter. Your story has been getting more interesting with each chapter.

I also like the way Aragorn has been growing, learning and absorbing the culture of the Dúnedain.

I fear Nestad is right, and if Aragorn wants to save Will, he will have to interfere.

Report this review, #3293, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [24] Reviewer:obsidianj Date:July 8, 2006 12:53 AM
This chapter was not only hard to write for you, but also difficult to read. Although I agree with you that there was no other solution. At most they might have sentenced Will to a flogging, but if he would have survived that... During that time there was not much differentiation in punishment. And Will, even if he didn't do the killing himself, helped with the robbing. I think that was punishable by death in any medieval society. But for Aragorn this is probably a shock. First the crime itself, which is something he would expect from orcs but not from men, and then the trial and punishment. I don't think his elven upbringing prepared him for the sometimes rough customs of men. At least they didn't side with the bandits and accused the rangers of killing and robbing the victims. For a while I feared the bandits would get off, because the villagers distrusted the rangers more. Kind of like the bandits were men like them but these rangers... they are capable of anything. Luckily Galt was not smart enough to try to sweet talk the Breelanders.

Report this review, #3302, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [25] Reviewer:Amy Date:July 22, 2006 1:23 AM
Lovely transitional chapter, with Nestad bringing up some great questions about justice and pointing out different sides of the issue. I imagine that Elrond or Erestor used similar tactics in teaching Aragorn as a young man.

Yay, more Rangers! Looking forward to more Ranger relationships/culture.

Report this review, #3311, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [26] Reviewer:Amy Date:July 22, 2006 1:23 AM
Lovely transitional chapter, with Nestad bringing up some great questions about justice and pointing out different sides of the issue. I imagine that Elrond or Erestor used similar tactics in teaching Aragorn as a young man.

Yay, more Rangers! Looking forward to more Ranger relationships/culture.

Report this review, #3312, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [27] Reviewer:obsidianj Date:July 23, 2006 1:29 AM
This is exactly the chapter I needed after the emotionally taxing last chapter. I loved the way Nestad counsels Aragorn (and Halbarad). These two are the youngest and most inexperienced rangers, so the events at Bree has the biggest impact on them. With Nestad's help Aragorn learned a lesson from this experience. A lesson he will have need of in later years.

Now I'm looking forward to the encounter with this new group of rangers.

Report this review, #3313, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [28] Reviewer:Amy Date:August 8, 2006 10:19 AM
The life of a ranger on patrol: intense boredom punctuated by moments of extreme danger. For 1,000 years. Among people who mistrust and fear you. Prob. they didn't write too many merry songs about Rangers on Patrol.

I enjoy reading about it, though. Camping and dealing with daily life and sore feet or saddlesores and all that. I'd like to stand them all a round of drinks in the Wilderness Edge Bar.

Report this review, #3334, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [29] Reviewer:Estelcontar Date:August 9, 2006 2:38 PM
Another great chapter. I really like the way you show Aragorn growing and learning how to lead. You can see in the young man the wiseness who turned him in the extraordinary man he was.

How true it is also that being raised by Elves and learning the way of men, made him so good a evaluating the strenght and the weaknesses of both races.

Estelcontar

Report this review, #3335, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [30] Reviewer: Date:August 11, 2006 4:33 AM
Hey! I keep forgetting your story now that you don't post on Open Scrolls anymore. Newayz another GREAT chapter! I'm glad Aragon finally got more then the others hehe Can't wait for the next chapter and I'll be checking back every once in a while!! Keep up the great work!!

Report this review, #3336, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
1 2 [3] 4 5
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz