Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
[1] 2 3 4 5
Brothers at Heart
by:Radbooks
 [1] Reviewer:Amy Date:January 25, 2006 9:47 AM
Ha ha, Aragorn having trouble distinguishing all those Dunedain with dark hair and gray eyes!! This aspect of Tolkien cracks me up, and I like the way that you show the practical application for Aragorn. (Also: the furrowed brow!)

I love all the cultural stuff on the Dunedain village.

Sparring, yay!

Another short review, alas, gotta go to work!

Report this review, #630, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [2] Reviewer:Amy Date:February 2, 2006 10:04 AM
The sparring was great! It was interesting to think that perhaps Aragorn was at a bit of a disadvantage at first because Halbarad was so slow, which might have thrown A off his rhythm.

I enjoy seeing Aragorn in diplomatic mode, somewhat like a v. v. young Elrond.

Eee, healing next: you're pushing all my buttons here!

Report this review, #640, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [3] Reviewer:obsidianj Date:February 5, 2006 1:10 AM
This is a great look at Aragorn's early days with the Dunedain. He has the advantage of inheriting his position, but he will still have to earn the trust of his people.

I like the way you have him learn about his people and that they are appalled that he knows so little about his close family.

It had to be quite a culture shock to move from Imladris to the little primitive village.

I enjoy all his questions and the instinctive changes he would like to see, only to realize that he has to tread carefully and needs to see the whole picture before he can change things.

Chris

Report this review, #646, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [4] Reviewer:Amy Date:February 8, 2006 9:22 AM
*wallows in the Ranger love*

Healing, tracking, and archery, hooray!

Argghh, again, no time to review properly, but I'm really loving this!

Report this review, #652, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [5] Reviewer:Amy Date:February 8, 2006 9:22 AM
*wallows in the Ranger love*

Healing, tracking, and archery, hooray!

Argghh, again, no time to review properly, but I'm really loving this!

Report this review, #653, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [6] Reviewer:obsidianj Date:February 9, 2006 2:03 AM
What a nice surprise to find another update so quickly.

Within a day of his arrival Aragorn can show his capabilities. He doesn't do any miracle healing but he shows that he is competent and knows what he is doing.

Poor Faelon. Having to deal with his chieftain in a subordinate position can't be easy, especially since he doesn't know him and his capabilities.

I like it how you show glimpses of the leader Aragorn will grow into, ie when he commands his companion to stop so as not to disturb the tracks. Aragorn up to that point submitted to Faelon without protest, so it came as some kind of surprise when his authority shone through.

Chris (waiting for the next update)

Report this review, #656, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [7] Reviewer:obsidianj Date:February 17, 2006 2:21 AM
Little by little Aragorn is drawn into the community. I like his grandmother. I think she will grow into one of his staunchest supporters in her own way.

I got to thinking, how many stars are there in a Dunedain family? At least 2. One worn by the father and the other by the oldest son (if there is only one son). So Halbarad wears his grandfather's star and his father probably wears his grandfather's, that would be Halbarad's great-grandfather's star. So the stars seems to skip a generation unles like in Aragorn's case the father is dead before the son reaches the age to be a ranger.

Chris (looking forward to the next chapter)

Report this review, #663, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [8] Reviewer:Amy Date:February 24, 2006 11:11 AM
Aiee, no time for a proper review, have to leave early today, but wanted to note that this chapter was really exciting and omg, orcs!

And Halbarad is such a dear.

Report this review, #682, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [9] Reviewer:obsidianj Date:February 28, 2006 12:39 AM
Evil cliffhanger. I hope there are some villagers left and Aragorn doesn't lose too many of his people.

I like Halbarad. I like the way you describe his first battle and his observation that the real thing is quite different than the training, especially that the orcs won't come at him on after the other.

Report this review, #686, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [10] Reviewer:Amy Date:March 3, 2006 9:43 AM
The healing hands, dwindling Dunedain population, burns (shudder, the smell!): much of interest in this chapter.

I like how Aragorn names himself Estel w/o thinking.

Report this review, #689, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
[1] 2 3 4 5
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz