Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
[1] 2
Lesser Ring
by:Larner
 [1] Reviewer:bardess Date:July 27, 2005 11:13 AM
This is a very interesting beginning. I really like your protrayal of the Haradrim as an Egyptian sun worshipping culture. You have done your 'homework' and included some very convincing details.

Report this review, #427, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [2] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:July 29, 2005 6:34 PM
You've started an intriguing, well-written & well-conceived story. I appreciate the details you've provided that give the culture, social structure & religion of Harad depth and meaning. I also like Aragorn's merchant ruse. I look forward to reading more!

Report this review, #429, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [3] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:July 30, 2005 2:15 PM
Bonnie, the next two chapters are excellent. The attention to detail in your writing matches what we'd expect from Aragorn -- thinking in advance of the need for a windowless room, etc. Don't want my review to turn into a spoiler so I'll leave it at that. Cheers,Rebecca

Report this review, #430, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [4] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:August 1, 2005 3:42 AM
Two more terrific chapters -- I'm curious about the brothers the priest alluded to. Covering one's face with cloth when operating on someone seems like a rather odd thing for elves to need to do since they aren't vulnerable to infection or sickness (is that right?)... but maybe they could be carriers of things that could infect me? Anyway, all very interesting, can't wait for more!

Report this review, #432, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [5] Reviewer:bardess Date:August 2, 2005 1:24 AM
This tale grows in the telling. (This is one of my favorite sayings, and a sincere compliment to your originality and scholarship.)

Report this review, #433, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [6] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:August 8, 2005 3:02 AM
More and more interesting -- can't wait to see where you go next with this. I am finding it hard to imagine that the king and queen would travel without any servants at all, and that they would cook their own food (of course they could, just finding it hard to think that they would feel it necessary). Perhaps I misunderstood.

I did like the very detailed letter sent ahead by Harad's ambassador, and the mention of their opposition to slavery. I could see Aragorn & co. preferring to not eat food prepared by slaves. Perhaps I'll understand more as the story progresses -- looking forward to it!

Cheers,
Rebecca

Report this review, #443, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [7] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:August 11, 2005 3:05 PM
I like how you've depicted the Haradrim's curiosity and misgivings about their northern guests without making them reactionary and superstitiously suspicious. They're impressed with Aragorn & co... I wonder if the peoples of Gondor, Rohan & Arnor will discover admirable things about the Haradrim that they hadn't previously known?

Report this review, #455, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [8] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:August 17, 2005 2:06 PM
Re Chapter 18: really cool twist, I sure didn't see that coming!

Report this review, #460, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [9] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:August 23, 2005 2:48 AM
excellent chapter -- but wait, did I miss something earlier, or is this the first reference that has been made to Aragorn disposing of not one but three of the lesser rings (and their wearers)?

Report this review, #469, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [10] Reviewer:Rebecca Date:August 24, 2005 3:07 AM
Re chapters 25 & 26 -- wow! I especially approved of the justice meted out to Sherfiramun.

Report this review, #470, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
[1] 2
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz