Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
[1] 2
The Sword of Elendil
by:Gandalfs apprentice
 [1] Reviewer:bardess Date:May 27, 2005 6:59 AM
The secretive behavior and secure ring of defense around Dunedain lands sounds very realistic and shows careful thought. You have set up your story with several interesting potential conflicts and two very believable main characters.

Report this review, #368, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [2] Reviewer:Radbooks Date:June 6, 2005 7:19 AM
I am enjoying this very much so far. It would have been so hard for Aragorn to leave his sheltered home and head out to be with the rangers and you have done a nice job of capturing that. I am glad he has Halbarad by his side. I loved the part in the first chapter where he first met the rangers and they captured him and were talking about him in Sindarian. You could just tell he was thinking that when he was Chieftain that wouldn't be talking in front of prisoners like that anymore! Nicely done and looking forward to more. Radbooks

Report this review, #376, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [3] Reviewer:viggomaniac Date:June 20, 2005 1:42 PM
Hi again! I must say you are rapidly becoming one of my favorite authors. Your stories are very realistic in scope, i.e., in that I can picture the events the characters experience as actually taking place, and the setting always remains true to Middle-Earth. Mesmerizing. I appreciated Halbarad's unflagging loyalty to Aragorn, and the struggle that Aragorn is having as he comes to terms with his heritage. His brief capture by the other rangers was portrayed well, as was the touch of humor at their carelessness with their speech. I am most anxious to read the next chapter.

Report this review, #396, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [4] Reviewer:Nozomi_7 Date:July 11, 2005 3:45 AM
This is a terrific read so far, can't wait for more!

Report this review, #414, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [5] Reviewer:obsidianj Date:December 10, 2005 10:39 PM
Very good and interesting start to this story. I have seen very few stories tackling this part of Aragorn's life. Your characters come to life and I can see Aragorn and the men of the Dunedain struggling with this new chieftain in name that suddenly showed up. I find it inriguing to learn alongside Aragorn snippets of his and his parents past. Please update soon.

Report this review, #570, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [6] Reviewer:obsidianj Date:March 28, 2006 1:35 AM
I'm glad you updated this story.

So, Aragorn met his family. The family seems to be a mixed bunch and there is even a great-grandmother.

I like the easy camaraderie developing between Halbarad and Aragorn. Poor Aragorn has to feel as if he has an exam the next morning.

I can't wait to see how he finds his place.

Report this review, #3191, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [7] Reviewer:obsidianj Date:April 23, 2006 7:21 AM
I would like to read the chapter about the Battle, but it is not accessible. Where can I find it?

Report this review, #3245, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [8] Reviewer:obsidianj Date:May 8, 2006 6:31 PM
Poor Aragorn. It seems he comes into the middle of an old family feud with him as an innocent and mostly ignorant victim. He has a lot of backstory to his family to learn.

The battle had to be disturbing for Aragorn. It seems the Nazgul had their first appearance in centuries. Was Aragorn the only one affected by them? That seems strange. Later the Nazgul spread fear and panic everywhere they go. If only Aragorn was affected, then he will have a hard time convincing anyone that he will be a good leader. Obviously he fell from his horse for no good reason in his first battle...

Report this review, #3261, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [9] Reviewer:bardess Date:June 22, 2006 8:18 PM
Well done. You have created an interesting community of well rounded characters. The chronology is a valuable detail and adds an air of authenticity.

Report this review, #3294, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [10] Reviewer:obsidianj Date:July 5, 2006 12:42 AM
So, Aragorn now goes out to learn the lay of his land, the lands of the Dunedain rangers. I like the way you describe the lnadscape. How lonely and thinly settled it is.

I loved Halbarad's tale in the Prancing Pony. 'Der Froschkönig' (the frog king?) Middle-earth style. I would never have guessed Poet as the name the Breelanders gave to Halbarad. He is kind of the last guy I envisioned with a poetic streak. But with enough ale in him... And his tale was really good.

Report this review, #3299, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
[1] 2
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz