Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
[1] 2
Fallen
by:Aliana
 [1] Reviewer:Denise Date:July 3, 2007 2:08 PM
Oh, I was so glad to see this posted here! It deserves as wide an audience as possible, IMHO - such an excellent, gripping, heart-twisting story, and wonderful world-building besides. Although, I confess, when I saw it I was really, really hoping a new chapter was part of the deal. Please do give us an update soon!

Report this review, #3723, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [2] Reviewer:Eilenach Date:July 3, 2007 7:12 PM
The conversation with Valacar about what happened with Aradir is a bit too vague -- I can't figure out what happened. My best guess is that Valacar had an affair with Aradirs's wife before Aradir married her, but I have no idea if I'm right.

Report this review, #3728, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [3] Reviewer:Eilenach Date:July 3, 2007 7:17 PM
This chapter doesn't fit too well in its present form. A couple of the stories need to be told, but could be woven into other chapters. I couldn't really understand going all the way back to the Ring's making (at least I think that's what you were getting at.)

Report this review, #3729, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [4] Reviewer:Eilenach Date:July 3, 2007 7:31 PM
I am very impressed with this story, and hope that you continue it. Your description of how the main character's (what is her name?) psyche is pulled apart by her rape is wonderfully done. The men seem very willing to just gloss over the whole thing -- is it to protect her from the publicity, or because they don't want to admit that a Gondorian soldier has committed such a heinous crime?

Looking forward to more!

Report this review, #3730, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [5] Reviewer:Elena Tiriel Date:January 22, 2008 2:20 AM
What a powerful story, Aliana!

We really get into the head and heart of your main character, which is a horrific (but realistic and well-written) place to be after her trauma.

Very well done!

- Barbara

Report this review, #3857, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [6] Reviewer:Denise Date:November 20, 2010 4:02 PM
I had a heart-stopping moment when I saw this at the top of the story queue: "There's an update?!!?"

Alas... I remain hopeful that one day you will finish the story. We have to see Beren return! How does Narrator reconcile herself to marriage? More, please!

Report this review, #4267, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [7] Reviewer:just_ann_now Date:December 29, 2011 6:34 PM
*Ann puts her head down on the desk and weeps with relief for them all*

Report this review, #4386, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [8] Reviewer:just_ann_now Date:December 29, 2011 6:35 PM
*Ann puts her head down on the desk and weeps with relief for them all*

Report this review, #4387, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [9] Reviewer:Dwimordene Date:January 22, 2012 12:15 AM
Yes! Go Narrator!

Excellent two chapters, Aliana - and so very... happy.

I love that Elloth gets time to shine a bit in the penultimate chapter, and that she is such a good storyteller, Beren and Narrator can even have a very painfully frank conversation.

Everyone gets to show their quality in these chapters: Elloth, Narrator, Beren, even Lord AradÓr (how refreshing!), and Faramir. OMG FARAMIR IN RESEARCH MODE! COMPLETE WITH HAPLESS GRAD STUDENT - ER, CLERK.

And what a fantastic history you've come up with to explain the Healer's Canon - I love it! And that in the heart of Tradition City, AradÓr and Faramir are both pretty over the traditionalness of that tradition - huzzah for realism and pragmatism managing to get the better of sexism this time.

Report this review, #4398, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [10] Reviewer:Wheelrider Date:January 27, 2012 11:24 AM
This is stunningly good. It's a "gap-filler" in the best sense, adding layers of depth as well as action. It seems in some ways easier to relate to, in fact, than LoTR, without being jarringly modern. And the emotions... I don't cry while reading things much at all, but I cried at several points of this.

I've read some other of your pieces at HASA (and now I see there's an "extended version" - woooo!), and have appreciated your portrayals of how the citizens of Minas Tirith and Rohan deal with war and its effects - the collective sense of pride, strength, and numb despair, and the subtle but important differences between characters in this pressure cooker. But this story uses those themes in a complete tapestry. It's a masterpiece, really.

Could go on and on but I'll save some words for MEFA...

Report this review, #4399, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
[1] 2
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2014 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz