Tolkien Fan Fiction Home Tolkien Fan FictionAll the tales of the Valar and the Elves are so knit together that one may scarce expound any one without needing to set forth the whole of their great history.
Reviews
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post A Review   Story
Marpol the Builder
by:Barrabard
 [1] Reviewer:Tauriel Date:February 21, 2013 9:16 AM
I love this story! I've been checking everyday to see if you've posted another chapter! Please finish it! I especially enjoy the relationship you've given Aragorn with his cousin Halladan.

Report this review, #4472, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [2] Reviewer:JennieM Date:October 21, 2013 5:19 PM
Barrabard, I too am especially keen to read more of this. I especially like the way that Aragorn has taken over a stultified court and is working to change it.

People of worth with appreciable skills will prosper under his rule, and those who rely on their previous status will find themselves out in the cold.

Thank you for a really interesting, thought-provoking story.

Report this review, #4489, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [3] Reviewer:s Date:April 12, 2014 10:59 PM
Looking forward to reading more about Marpol as he assembles his crew to build the roads needed to unify Gondor and Arnor.

Report this review, #4493, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [4] Reviewer:s Date:November 14, 2014 1:31 PM
I was very pleased to see more chapters posted. I sincerely hope the lack of reviews does not result in your abandonment of this story! You have created a cast of characters who are interesting in themselves and whose interactions with canon characters reveal a depth of social, political and cultural institutions that could have existed in Gondor.

Report this review, #4506, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [5] Reviewer:s Date:January 21, 2015 8:07 PM
Thank you for your latest chapters. I enjoy Marpol more and more with each new posting as he adapts to his new professional and social standing.

Report this review, #4512, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [6] Reviewer:Tanya Date:March 5, 2015 11:23 AM
This is a very interesting story. Please continue with it. Your writing style is also quite good.

Kind regards

Tanya

Report this review, #4516, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [7] Reviewer:Anon Date:March 12, 2015 11:19 PM
Wow. Staggering. It's incredible how badly written this is. It reads like a b*stardized version of a Middlemarch / Flashman novella. There are sporadic LOTR trivia or characters scattered throughout this work possibly to remind any poor reader why they started this. The dialogue is of a very poor standard; "common" Gondorians speak "Mockney" to the Lords and Ladies?! Here's an example: "...Es got better things t don ave us clutter up is quarters."

It's horrific and hilarious in equal measure.

I'd ask the author to read some other fiction here or on Henneth-Annun. Try something by LadyBlueJay or JunoMagic for ideas on how to create a fantastic piece of fanfiction.

Report this review, #4517, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
 [8] Reviewer:s Date:March 13, 2015 6:57 PM
Striving for the quality writing of LadyBlueJay or Juno is a worthy goal. Putting one's writing "out there" and signing one's name to it is an act of bravery. I am enjoying the story and looking forward to the next chapters.

Report this review, #4518, for abuse of site guidelines.(Opens new window)
A Mike Kellner Web Site
Tolkien Characters, Locations, & Artifacts © Tolkien Estate & Designated Licensees - All Rights Reserved
Stories & Other Content © The Respective Authors - All Rights Reserved
Software & Design © 2003 - 2015 Michael G Kellner All Rights Reserved
Hosted by:Raven Studioz